Luthi Injury Overshadows Final Day At Valencia

Pol Espargaro got the better of Nicolas Terol once again to finish the pre-season Valencia test on top but the final day was marred by a heavy crash involving Thomas Luthi and Ratthapark Wilairot. The pair came together in the second session of the day with Luthi’s participation in the Qatar season opener now in some doubt.

Details of the accident are unclear with neither rider able to fully remember the moments leading up to it but Luthi has subsequently been taken to the 9 d’Octubre Hospital in Valencia with a suspected broken right arm and collarbone. Wilairot remained at the circuit to be treated for pain in his head but appears to have escaped serious injury himself.

Luthi had previously set the fifth fastest time overall with Pol Espargaro and Nicolas Terol resuming their battle from the previous two days up front. The best weather of the test set the scene for some blistering lap times as Espargaro destroyed his pole position record set in last year’s season finale. Terol also went quicker than that time though to finish a close second, as did Julian Simon, Jordi Torres, the unfortunate Luthi and Takaaki Nakagami who completed the top six.

Scott Redding rounded off a solid week with seventh place ahead of Esteve Rabat and Simone Corsi while Johann Zarco, the man who’s replaced Corsi at Ioda Racing, tenth in the overall classification despite his second crash of the week. British rookies Danny Kent and Kyle Smith both made excellent progress over the three days to end up 24th and 25th, the latter finding a second and a half from his best effort the day before.


Moto2 Valencia Test: Combined Classification – Thursday 14th February
Pos Rider Nat Team Best Time  
1 40. Pol Espargaro Tuenti HP 40 1:34.577
2 18. Nicolas Terol Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:34.777
3 60. Julian Simon Italtrans Racing Team 1:34.981
4 81. Jordi Torres Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:35.084
5 12. Thomas Luthi Interwetten Paddock 1:35.093
6 30. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Racing Team 1:35.122
7 45. Scott Redding Marc VDS Racing Team 1:35.293
8 80. Esteve Rabat Tuenti HP 40 1:35.317
9 3. Simone Corsi NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:35.365 Report
10 5. Johann Zarco Came IodaRacing Project 1:35.399
11 77. Dominique Aegerter Technomag carXpert 1:35.555
12 49. Axel Pons Tuenti HP 40 1:35.630
13 36. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Racing Team 1:35.769
14 24. Toni Elias Blusens Avintia 1:35.911
15 19. Xavier Simeon Maptaq SAG Zelos Team 1:36.039
16 88. Ricard Cardus NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.347 Report
17 95. Anthony West QMMF Racing Team 1:36.434
18 54. Mattia Pasini NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.485 Report
19 14. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda Gresini Moto2 1:36.531 Report
20 15. Alex De Angelis NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.722 Report
21 11. Sandro Cortese Dynavolt Intact GP 1:36.733
22 72. Yuki Takahashi Honda Racing Asia Tady 1:36.862
23 44. Steven Odendaal Arguiñano & Gines Racing 1:37.159
24 52. Danny Kent Tech 3 Racing 1:37.330
25 9. Kyle Smith Blusens Avintia 1:37.378
26 4. Randy Krummenacher Technomag carXpert 1:37.389
27 63. Mike Di Meglio JIR Moto2 1:37.571 Report
28 96. Louis Rossi Tech 3 Racing 1:37.662
29 17. Alberto Moncayo Arguiñano & Gines Racing 1:38.097
30 7. Doni Tata Pradita Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1:38.266 Report