American Le Mans SeriesEndurance RacingSportscars

Additional Drivers For Extreme Speed Motorsports At Sebring

1 Mins read
Brabham and Sharp last drove together in the Tequila Patron sponsored LMP1 Acura (Photo Credit: Highcroft Racing)

David Brabham and Anthony Lazzaro will join Extreme Speed Motorsports‘ (ESM) pair of prototypes for the 12 Hours of Sebring.

The team also made changes to their driver line up in accordance with IMSA driver classification rules. ESM driver/owner Scott Sharp will remain in the #01 Honda Performance Development (HPD) ARX-03b and will be joined by Guy Cosmo, a proven American Le Mans Series (ALMS) LMP2 race winner.

Ed Brown will be joined by Johannes van Overbeek, who celebrated his century of ALMS starts in 2012.

The Sebring event, held in March, will see David Brabham join the pair in the #01 car, the first time Brabham has driven for ESM since the 2009 ALMS P1 championship season, where they finished fifth at Sebring.

“I am really excited to be joining Extreme Speed Motorsports, Tequila Patrón and my old teammate Scott Sharp.” said Brabham “Patrón, Scott and I were the most successful Honda/HPD combination in the American Le Mans Series and it is great to be back with old friends.

ESM has done a great job in a short period of time they have been around, as last year’s success in the GT category proved. The step up to P2 is a challenging one, but I have every confidence in the team to succeed.”

Lazzaro will take his place alongside van Overbeek and Brown in the #02 car. Lazzaro raced for ESM in 2012’s Sebring and Road Atlanta events in the #02 Ferrari F458 Italia. The 2013 event at Sebring will be Lazzaro’s first race in an LMP2 car since the 24 Hours of Daytona in 2002.

“To go from GT to P2 is a big change for the team and very cool to see Scott and Tequila Patrón back in prototypes, back to their roots in ALMS racing.” said Lazzaro “I’m happy to be part of it. I really love the team. They’ve made me feel welcome since day one. I consider those guys a lot of close friends now.”

Related posts
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeSportscars

Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts emerge as Champions in Barcelona

4 Mins read
Dries Vathoor and Charles Weerts are crowned overall champions of the GT World Challenge Sprint Cup Series with Sky Tempesta and Sainteloc Racing crowned in Pro-Am and Silver Cup respectively.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeSportscars

Emil Frey Racing take a 1-2 in the opening race of the Sprint Cup Finale

3 Mins read
Albert Costa and Giacomo Altoè took the overall win in race one of the GT World Challenge Europe Sprint Cup finale at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeOtherSportscars

Preview: GT World Challenge Sprint Cup - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

3 Mins read
The GT World Challenge Sprint Cup reaches its climax this weekend at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. the #32 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT leads the way but will face stern competition for their rivals.

Leave a Reply