Endurance RacingSportscars

Velocity Duo On Verge Of Grand-Am Glory

2 Mins read

Velocity Worldwide‘s Max Angelelli and Jordan Taylor head to Lime Rock Park with one thing in mind: Championship glory.

The duo take an eight point lead in to the final round, and have momentum on their side following two straight victories and a season-high of four race wins in 2013. There is even some talk that the last time Velocity’s #10 Daytona Prototype was adorned in a black livery was in 2005 – its one and only championship-winning season to date.

Angelelli and Taylor will be putting all thoughts of victory to the back of their minds, however, as they aim for a fourth-placed finish or better to secure the title. Focus will be on the team’s mechanics, who have been lightening-fast all season, and will be under pressure to continue their form when it really matters.

“In GRAND-AM, nothing is safe until we see the checkered flag,” said Angelelli. “It is certainly a nice position that we are in, but anything can happen in the race on any given weekend. Just look at some of our opponents in the last few races, like the #5 (Action Express Racing Corvette DP) and the #99 (Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing Corvette DP). Final results are totally unpredictable. One thing for sure – it will be very exciting for the fans because there are at least eight drivers, possibly 10, who still have a mathematical chance to win the championship.

“I will personally be playing it conservatively, and this is what I have been doing so far since I began qualifying and starting the races. But, bear in mind that you can only be conservative if you have your opponents under control or behind you, so a lot of what actually happens will be determined by where we qualify, and how the early part of the race plays out.”

Velocity’s closest challengers are that of the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing duo of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, who have won each of the last three titles. It looks likely that Ganassi will be taking the team’s championship, holding an eleven point lead, but Pruett and Rojas will have to pull out a strong performance to take the overall championship from Angelelli and Taylor.

Taylor has sat in this position before, taking a three point lead in the GT Class in to the final round in 2011. On that day, Taylor and co-driver Bill Lester could only manage eighth place, while their championship rivals took fourth, enough to take the championship by just two points.

Related posts
24 Hours of SpaEndurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupIntercontinental GT ChallengeSportscars

Rafaelle Marciello claims Pole for the Total Spa 24 Hours

2 Mins read
Rafaelle Marciello produced a stunning qualifying performance to grab pole position for tomorrow’s Total Spa 24 Hours.
24 Hours of SpaEndurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupIntercontinental GT ChallengeSportscars

GT World Challenge Europe Preview: Total Spa 24 Hours

5 Mins read
This weekend sees the GT World Challenge roar into its marquee event: The Total Spa 24 Hours. GPX and Porsche will be looking to defend their win from last season but their are plenty of crews wanting to make sure it doesn’t happen.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeSportscars

Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts emerge as Champions in Barcelona

4 Mins read
Dries Vathoor and Charles Weerts are crowned overall champions of the GT World Challenge Sprint Cup Series with Sky Tempesta and Sainteloc Racing crowned in Pro-Am and Silver Cup respectively.

Leave a Reply