2013 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Final Six Announced

The finalists for the 2013 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award have been announced, with four British-based talents and two European Formula Renault stars set to battle it out for the prestigious award.

The award, which began in 1989, aims to find the best up-and-coming British racing talent, with former winners including 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button, three-time Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti and current F1 star Paul Di Resta.

The six drivers that will contest the award this year are Protyre Formula Renault champion Chris Middlehurst, BRDC Formula 4 Championship top-three Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson, and Formula Renault 2.0 NEC top-two Matt Parry and Jack Aitken.

The awards test will take place later this month at Silverstone. The six candidates, all first time finalists, will be assessed in Formula 2, DTM Mercedes and McLaren GT3 machinery, with the judging panel including BRDC president Derek Warwick, BTCC star Jason Plato, circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport’s Kevin Turner.

The winner, who will be announced at the Autosport Awards in London in December, will receive a McLaren Formula One test, £100,000, an Arai GP-6 RC carbon helmet and full BRDC membership.