Thirteen Cars For Clio Series Autumn Cup

Thirteen cars are set to take to the grid for the 2013 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Protyre ‘Autumn Cup’ event at Rockingham this weekend.

The one-day event, on Saturday 16 November, will see competitors in the headline ‘racecar’ class and the ‘roadcar’ class tackle a 20 minute sprint race and a 45 minute endurance race.

Leading the entry for the ‘racecar’ class with half a dozen cars are Scuderia Vittoria. Only one of their sextet has experience in the third-generation Clio Renaultsport 200 racer though, Renault UK Clio Cup racer Devon Modell.

‘Roadcar’ class race-winner Tommy Ostgaard, former Scottish Legends champion Jamie Clarke, ex-InterSteps racer Alex Walker, former Lotus racer Andrew Wright and racing newcomer Michele Faissola will join him.

Fellow Renault UK Clio Cup outfit Westbourne Motorsport are joining the grid for the first time, reuniting with their 2011 SaxMax Rookie champion, 2012 Fiesta Junior champion Charles Ladell. 20Ten Racing’s Graham Field and category regular, privateer Brett Lidsey complete the race-car class entry.

In the ‘roadcar’ class, an eleventh hour deal has seen Jessica Hawkins confirm her car-racing debut under the Chevron Racing with SWB Motorsport banner.

Monster Sport Europe are running two cars, one for Henry Surtees Challenge prize-winner Jacob Stip and the other for Lee Linford, with privateer Jake Honour returning to the series to complete the line-up.

Autumn Cup qualifying will begin at 10:40 on Saturday. Race one is scheduled to start at 12:20, with the endurance race at 14:40.