FIA World Rallycross

FIA World Rallycross Championship Announces 2014 Plans

2 Mins read

IMG Motorsports, a division of IMG Worldwide, the global sports, fashion and media company, and the Federation Internationale de L’Automobile (“FIA”) have released the 2014 calendar of events for the inaugural FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy.

Following the FIA’s decision at September’s World Motorsport Council meeting to approve the formation of the World Championship in 2014, the parties have agreed to a new calendar for next year, which has been approved at today’s Council meeting in Paris.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship in 2014 will be run over 12 events including races in Canada, Turkey and Argentina and at new European Circuits in Belgium and Italy.

FIA President, Jean Todt, said: “The launch of the new FIA World Rallycross Championship will allow this fantastic sport to grow and develop outside of its traditional base in Europe. The exciting line up of races for 2014 will bring Rallycross to a new generation of fans around the world.”

Rob Armstrong, SVP and Global Head of IMG Motorsports, said: “Having a global stage to promote this exciting and youth orientated motor sport can only increase its popularity and help grow the commercial side of the business at the same time. Response from international event promoters has been phenomenal and we expect even more great events outside of Europe in the years to come. We are delighted that the FIA has entrusted IMG with the task of taking Rallycross to the next level, following the success of our first year promoting the sport.”

Martin Anayi, Managing Director of Rallycross at IMG Motorsports, said: “Achieving FIA World Championship status was a huge step in the development of the sport and today’s approval of the calendar for 2014, which sees us operate across four continents, proves its growing presence on the international motorsport scene.”

The events outside Europe will be held at the Les Trois Riviere Grand Prix in Quebec, Canada, where the races will be part of a multi street circuit motorsport event that attracts an attendance in excess of 130,000 people, as well as the F1 venue at Istanbul Park in Turkey and working with a WRC promoter in Argentina.

The FIA World Rallycross Championship will be for Supercar drivers and teams only – a new team championship introduced along with the individual driver’s title – and will run across all events.

The events run in Europe will also include the FIA European Rallycross Championship with individual titles in the Supercar, Super1600 and TouringCar categories being retained.

03-04/05 PRT Montalegre
24-25/05 GBR Lydden Hill *
14-15/06 NOR Hell-Lanke *
28-29/06 FIN Kouvola
05-06/07 SWE Höljes
12-13/07 BEL Mettet */**
07-08/08 CDN Trois-Rivières **
06-07/09 FRA Lohéac
20-21/09 DEU Buxtehude *
27-28/09 ITA Franciacorta */**
11-12/10 TUR Istanbul Park **
22-23/11 ARG TBA **

Reserve competition: Greinbach (AUT)

* Competitions counting towards the FIA European Rallycross SuperCar Championship (all European competitions to count towards the FIA European Rallycross Championships for Super1600 and TouringCar)
** Subject to circuit (re-)homologation

From January 2014, a new scale of points will be adopted for the qualifying heats in the FIA European Rallycross Championship, with the top drivers receiving more points than those behind. The same scale of points – which serve to establish the intermediate classification at the end of the qualifying heats and to designate the drivers who can reach the final phase – will also be adopted in the FIA World Rallycross Championship. And, to increase the value of winning the Final, eight Championship points will be awarded instead of six.

In both the European and World Championships, the number of engine seals per driver in any one season is set at three. A penalty of 15 Championship points will be imposed on the driver for each additional engine seal.

Related posts
FIA World Rallycross

Kristoffersson Motorsport Announces Three-Car Entry for 2022 RX1e Class in World RX

2 Mins read
Kristoffersson Motorsport is the first team announced for the 2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship as they reveals a 3-car entry in the new RX1e class!
FIA World Rallycross

8-Car Grid and New Title Sponsor Revealed for World RX of Montalegre

2 Mins read
On the same time as Cooper Tires was revelead as the official title sponsor for World RX of Montalegre, the entry list got published which is featuring a 8-car grid for the penultimate round
FIA World Rallycross

FIA Announces 14-Car Grid for New Electric Era in World RX 2022

2 Mins read
The FIA has now revealed there will be atleast a 14-car grid in the new all-electric RX1e class for World RX 2022, which will take over the internal combustion engine Supercars!