Michelin Clio Cup Series

Clio Return For Robinson Leads TCR Series Line-Up

1 Mins read

Total Control Racing have confirmed plans for an up to four car entry in the 2014 Michelin Clio Cup Series, with former Renault UK Clio Cup front-runner Mike Robinson leading the team’s line-up.

Robinson will make a return to Clio racing for the first time since 2010, having competed in the BTCC-supporting Clio Cup in 2008, 2009 and 2010, with a best championship finish of fifth in his final year.

Since then, Robinson has remained with TCR, going on to become the Ginetta Challenge vice-champion with them in 2012, before campaigning a TCR-engineered SEAT Leon Cupra in the Britcar Production Cup last year.

Robinson will be joined by Clio Series race-winner Andy Jordan. The 2011 Euro Saloons champion ran as a privateer in the category last year, ending the year with a double victory in the final rounds at Brands Hatch.

Jordan’s move across to TCR for 2014 reunites him with the West Midlands-based outfit, with whom he made a one-off appearance in the Renault UK Clio Cup in 2010.

“We’re really pleased to have Andy in the team for 2014, he had a good end to last season and we’re sure he can be a podium regular this year,” said TCR team principal Lee Brookes. “It’s great Mike has wanted to come back to Clios this year and we know he’ll be right at the front, the aim is to fight for the championship.”

“It’s fantastic news for the championship TCR will be involved in the Michelin Clio Cup Series this year, the team has been an integral part of Renault UK’s national motorsport programme for the best part of 20 years,” added category promoter Simon North.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.