BTCCHistoric RacingTouring Cars

29 Super Tourers To Support BTCC At Oulton Park

2 Mins read

A massive and nostalgic grid of 29 Super Touring cars will take to Oulton Park circuit next month to support the fourth round of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship,  featuring many famous machines and several equally well-known names in the cockpits.

The country’s premier tin-top series heads to the Cheshire circuit on 7/8 June for its fourth round with Andrew Jordan looking to continue his early quest for a second BTCC crown, a feat achieved by the most illustrious name on the HSCC Super Touring Trophy entry list that will support it over the two days, John Cleland.

The Scot, who claimed the BTCC title back in both 1989 and 1995 in a Vauxhall Astra GTE 16v and Cavalier respectively, will be among 29 cars to reignite the nostalgia of the Super Touring era of the 1990s, Cleland racing behind the wheel of his 1998 Vauxhall Vectra.

Cleland comes into the event having already taken a victory during the first double header of the championship held at Thruxton, sharing the spoils with fellow former BTCC sparring partner, Patrick Watts, who will race a Peugeot 406 he also competed with during the latter years of the sport’s Super Touring era.

Modern day rivals Matt Neal and Jason Plato will see their former machines competing on track once again, the former’s 1998 Nissan Primera driven by Super Touring Trophy series organiser Dave Jarman, while Mark Jones takes the wheel of Plato’s ex-Renault Laguna from the 1999 campaign.

Thruxton winner Cleland will grace the BTCC crowd once again (Photo: PSP Images)

Thruxton winner Cleland will grace the BTCC crowd once again (Photo: PSP Images)

1999 BTCC title-winning squad, RML, will see their Nissan Primera – driven by the late David Leslie – racing at Oulton Park once again, while James Dodd will race an ex-James Thompson Honda Accord.

Stewart Whyte’s 1996 Honda Accord will carry the number one plate, while a contender for the number one machine with the fans could be made a tougher decision by the entry of Craig Davies’ crowd favourite, a Ford RS500.

Other classic BTCC machines and liveries to marvel come from two Prodrive-built Ford Mondeos from the final year of the Super Touring era in 2000, while Nick Whale returns to his roots in one of seven BMWs to grace the grid with his 1991 M3, Neil Smith meanwhile bringing one of three Alfa Romeos to the Oulton Park encounters.

The weekend will see two Super Touring races joining the BTCC bill over the weekend on 7/8 June, ITV4 also showing coverage of the races during their Sunday TV broadcast.

Super Touring Trophy Oulton Park entry list:

1/ Stewart Whyte/ Honda Accord
2/ Neil Smith/ Alfa 156
3/ James Dodd/ Honda Accord
4/ Graeme Dodd/ Nissan Primera
6/ Jim Whelan/ BMW
7/ Paul Smith/ BMW
8/ Darren Fielding/ BMW
9/ Don Grice/ BMW
10/ Daniel Wheeler/ Nissan Primera
11/ Steve Dymoke/ Alfa 156
12/ Patrick Watts/ Peugeot 406
14/ Rick Wood/ Honda Accord
15/ Craig Davies/ Ford RS500
17/ Mark Smith/ BMW M3
23/ Derek Palmer/ Nissan Primera
24/ Alvin Powell/ Ford Mondeo
25/ Max Goff/ Honda Accord
27/ Kingsley Ingram/ Mazda 323F
31/ Roger Lavender/ BMW
36/ Keith Butcher/ Nissan Primera
37/ Simon Garrad/ Renault Laguna
55/ Paul Andrew/ Alfa 155
60/ Mark Wright/ Ford Escort
66/ Nick Whale/ BMW M3
67/ Tony Absolon/ Vauxhall Cavalier
68/ Richard Meins/ Ford Mondeo
70/ Dave Jarman/ Nissan Primera
79/ Mark Jones/ Renault Laguna
98/ John Cleland/ Vauxhall Vectra

Related posts
BTCCTouring Cars

Butcher wins BTCC finale, Sutton claims second championship title

2 Mins read
Rory Butcher eased to victory in the final Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship race of the season as Ash Sutton sealed his second drivers’ title with a sixth place finish.
BTCCTouring Cars

Sutton wins to put himself on the brink of the title

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton won a chaotic second Kwik Fit British Touring Car race of the day at Brands Hatch to extend his championship lead over Colin Turkington to 11 points with one race remaining.
BTCCTouring Cars

Cammish storms to victory in opener from Sutton who takes championship lead

2 Mins read
Dan Cammish produced a stunning drive to win the first race of the Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship Finals Day in treacherous wet conditions at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply