Dickenson Takes Final Clio Series Victory Of 2014

David Dickenson has taken the last Michelin Clio Cup Series victory of the season, beating Brett Smith to the line by 0.6 seconds at Croft Circuit.

The race seemed a lot more calmer than the first race earlier in the day but that didn’t stop Peter Bennett spinning in the #44 coming out of the Chicane, sending him down to the back of the pack.

Indeed while Dickinson took the win, it was Champion Mike Robinson that was first on the road, however a drive through penalty for exceeding track limits turned into a 30 second post race penalty for not observing the drive through so he ended up relegated to seventh and extremely angry when heading up to see the stewards.

However, that helped Smith up to a well deserved second place and an even more deserved third place for Luke Herbert in the Westbourne Motorsport car .

Paul Streather in the eponymous #26 Clio took fourth place, recovering after an awful race one which saw him retire with damage.

Brett Lidsey took a solid result in the 20Ten Racing machine, who had a comfortable gap on the next placed man – Ollie Pidgley – who himself was ahead of Bennett on the road but ahead of Robinson on the timing sheets.

One man who will be glad this weekend is over and done with is Jake Honour, retiring from race one after a collision not of his own making he retired in near enough the same place this race – on the start finish straight – with mechanical damage that saw him abandon his Road class charge on the rallycross track.

Speaking of the Road class, Nicholas Harrison ended up taking the victory after a hard fought battle with Honour before the latter retired with Jonathan Creasey not providing much resistance.