Rosberg completes Interlagos free practice clean sweep

Nico Rosberg was fastest in final practice at Interlagos as the pace heated up on a much cooler day at the Brazilian circuit.

The Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS drivers were once again first and second in the session, with Rosberg’s 1:10.446s a little over one tenth of a second faster than Lewis Hamilton’s 1:10.560s.

Hamilton had a wild moment heading into turn one during the session, spinning to a halt on the run-off with badly flat-spotted front tyres.

The Williams Martini Racing duo of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas began to show their potential with the third and fourth fastest times in the session, with the Brazilian the only driver other than the Mercedes duo to set a time in the 1:10s bracket.

Daniel Ricciardo was fifth for the Infiniti Red Bull Racing team ahead of Jenson Button, who had a much better session in his McLaren Mercedes. The two Ferrari’s of Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso were next up, but the Spaniard called a halt to his session early after complaining about his engine.

The second McLaren of Kevin Magnussen was ninth quickest ahead of Daniil Kvyat in the leading Scuderia Toro Rosso.

Sergio Perez finally got some running after missing out completely on track time on Friday but ended the session eighteenth and last in his Sahara Force India, just behind his team-mate Nico Hulkenberg.

Interlagos Free Practice 3 Times

Pos No Driver Team Time Gap
1 6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:10.446
2 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:10.560 0.114
3 19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1:10.875 0.429
4 77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1:11.054 0.608
5 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:11.188 0.742
6 22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:11.210 0.764
7 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:11.316 0.870
8 14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:11.399 0.953
9 20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1:11.499 1.053
10 26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 1:11.834 1.388
11 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 1:11.967 1.521
12 13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1:12.069 1.623
13 99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1:12.184 1.738
14 8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:12.235 1.789
15 25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 1:12.235 1.789
16 21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1:12.286 1.840
17 27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1:12.324 1.878
18 11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1:12.942 2.496