Rookie drivers choose their permanent numbers

The rookie class of 2015 have all chosen the numbers that will represent them throughout their Formula 1 careers.

Felipe Nasr, who will drive for the Sauber F1 Team, and Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz, who will both drive for the Scuderia Toro Rosso outfit, all had to decide on their number ahead of debuting next season.

Nasr, who was test and reserve driver for the Williams Martini Racing team during 2014 as well as racing to third place in the GP2 Series with Carlin, has chosen the number twelve as his permanent number.

“This will be my number from now,” tweeted Nasr from his official Twitter account. “Thanks for Marcelo and the IMX staff who created the logo! #nasr #12 #f1.”

Verstappen, who is to become the youngest driver in Formula 1 history when he takes to the track in the Australian Grand Prix in March, has chosen the number thirty-three.

“So guys I’m ready to announce my number for next season,” said Verstappen, also on Twitter. “Did take a while to decide but I have chosen it now.

“Since I was a young kid I was racing around with this number. So I thought it is nice to keep that in F1 as well! #33.”

2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series champion Sainz, who has dropped the Jr moniker from his name for his debut season, has chosen the number fifty-five, taking with the numbers representing the final ‘S’ in his first name and the first ‘S’ in his surname.

“Since my childhood I have had success with number 5,” said Sainz. “But [Sebastian] Vettel has this number.”