BRDC Formula 4Open Wheel

Russell Wins 2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

1 Mins read

George Russell has been crowned the latest victor of the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The success caps off a sensational first season of car racing for the 16 year old, who emerged from a thrilling title battle as the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 champion.

Russell overcame Alexander Albon, Sennan Fielding, Seb Morris, Ben Barnicoat and Harrison Scott to become the 26th and youngest ever recipient of the award.

The finalists were all subjected to a tough evaluation process at Silverstone which included on-track tests in a McLaren 650S GT3, Mercedes DTM machine and a Formula Two single-seater.

Russell wins £100,000, a McLaren Formula 1 test, full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon helmet, joining a roll call of winners that includes Jenson Button, Dario Franchitti and Paul Di Resta.

“I’m lost for words; it’s been a long wait since the two day test,” said Russell. “A number of amazing drivers have won this award in the past and gone on to do fantastic things so I hope I can do the same as them.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply