Michelin Clio Cup Series

Thruxton And Silverstone For 2015 Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read

Thruxton and Silverstone will appear on the Michelin Clio Cup Series calendar for the first time next year, with series organisers confirming a twelve round season for 2015.

A raft of changes for the second full season of the championship also sees the introduction of a first triple-header racing meeting for the series curtain-raiser at Rockingham.

Alongside this, the main championship will feature a 45 minute ‘endurance’ race at Oulton Park, a format previously trialled during the ‘Autumn Cup’ event at Rockingham at the end of 2013.

Alongside returns to Rockingham, Oulton Park, Brands Hatch and Croft, the series will head to the high-speed Thruxton circuit and then conclude its season at Silverstone around the International circuit.

The new introductions mean Snetterton, which had hosted a live televised race in 2014 on Motors TV, and Donington Park have been dropped from the calendar.

“We’re very happy indeed with our proposed calendar for 2015,” said Michelin Clio Cup Race Series and Road Series promoter Simon North. “The championships will be visiting some fantastic circuits once again and we’re delighted to be able to confirm the introduction of Silverstone and Thruxton.

“Last season we had some superb racing in the Clio Cup Series and the great mix of tracks we have on the 2015 schedule is certain to build on that further. We really do have another tremendous year in prospect for the third year of the Race Series and Road Series.”

Provisional 2015 Michelin Clio Cup Series Calendar:

Rds 1, 2, 3 – 11th/12th April – Rockingham ISSC

Rds 4, 5 – 13th/14th June – Thruxton

Rds 6, 7 – 11th/12th July – Croft

Rds 8, 9 – 25th/26th July – Brands Hatch Indy

Rd 10 – 15th August – Oulton Park Island

Rds 11, 12 – 19th/20th September – Silverstone International

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply