Whorton-Eales Heads First Ten Clio Series Entries

Ten entries have been confirmed for the headline class of the 2015 Michelin Clio Cup Series, with Ant Whorton-Eales set to tackle both the Clio Series and the Renault UK Clio Cup.

It was announced earlier this week that Whorton-Eales will be returning to the BTCC-supporting Clio Cup this year with SV Racing, and after making a one-off Clio Series appearance at Snetterton last year, the 20 year old is also committing to a title challenge in the BARC-run series.

Most the other entries so far come from drivers returning to the Clio Series, with Luke Herbert and Sam Randon (Westbourne Motorsport), Brett Lidsey (20Ten Racing), Paul Streather (Privateer) and Pete Bennett (Finesse Motorsport) all coming back for more.

Alex Reed will run with SV having, like his new team-mate Whorton-Eales, made a one-off appearance in the series at Snetterton last year, while fellow one-off debutant Adam Hatfield has also committed to a full campaign with Finesse.

Former VW Cup racer Tom Barley switches to the series full-time with 20Ten having also been another to compete in one meeting last year, while completely new to the series is club-level BMW racer Ricky Davies who enters with new entrant SZ Motorsport.

“To be able to confirm our first ten drivers for the Race Series before the end of January, and with a field of such quality too, we’re absolutely delighted,” said championship promoter Simon North.

“It’s a fantastic start to the year and the addition of a high-profile driver like Ant [Whorton-Eales] to the grid for the full season brings excellent momentum and even greater positivity to the championship.”