Young Driver AMR Wins Prestigious Award

by Daniel Lloyd

Young Driver AMR owner Jan Struve received a prestigious award at the Dansk Automobil Sport Union (DASU) Motorsport Awards ceremony in Copenhagen on Wednesday evening.

Struve was awarded the Høltzer Trophy as recognition for his and the Young Driver AMR’s contribution to Danish motorsport over the course of the 2014 World Endurance Championship season.

The Young Driver AMR team of Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier Hansson, Nicki Thiim and Richie Stanaway won the GTE-Am class in an Aston Martin V8 Vantage GTE. With four wins, including a class triumph at Le Mans, the #95 crew that affectionately became known as the ‘Dane Train’ won the title by 34 points.

The team was also nominated in the “Motorsport Profile of the Year” category, while AMR Young Driver Thiim was nominated for “Driver of the Year”.

“I’m very happy and proud about this honour,” Struve said.   “I have to thank the Danish Automobil Sports Union for recognising our successful 2014 season. A very special thanks goes to our drivers Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeier Hansson, Nicki Thiim and Richie Stanaway, who made the big success in the past season possible, alongside a top performance of our partners at Aston Martin Racing.”

After a successful season in the GTE-Am category, Young Driver AMR will make the step up the GTE-Pro class of the FIA WEC for 2015. The team will once again be driving an Aston Martin V8 Vantage GTE, with Lotus F1 development driver Marco Sørensen joining Thiim and Christoffer Nygaard in the line-up.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More