Five New Faces In 2015 BRDC SuperStars Scheme

BRDC SuperStars

The British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) have announced the twelve drivers that will be part of a streamlined BRDC SuperStars programme in 2015.

Now in its eighth year, the scheme helps young Briitsh drivers with a series of events and workshops throughout the year aimed to enhance their physical and mental fitness, communication, media and marketing skills.

Three of last year’s McLaren BRDC Autosport Award finalists have been named on the 2015 list, Ben Barnicoat, Alex Albon and eventual victor George Russell, with his predecessors to the award Matt Parry and Jake Dennis continuing on the scheme alongside fellow single-seater racers Oliver Rowland and Alex Lynn.

Recently named McLaren GT Young Driver Ross Wylie leads the sportscar names on the programme, with Charlie Robertson and Dan Cammish joining him, whilst there are two touring car names in the list in Jack Goff and Tom Ingram, both of whom are without a BTCC drive for 2015 as yet.

Former SuperStar and current works BMW driver Alexander Sims will continue for a second year as the ambassador for the programme, for which Tim Harvey is director.

“We are building on the wonderful success that we enjoyed last year with Jolyon Palmer, Alex Lynn and Ben Barnicoat winning a series of high-profile single-seater championships,” said Harvey.

“For this year, we are reducing our line-up from 16 to 12 in order to focus all of our efforts and give the drivers even greater support and assistance.”

Russell is the youngest ever recruit on the programme, with himself, Albon, Wylie, Robertson and Cammish being the new SuperStars for 2015.

Palmer, Alex Brundle, Ben Barker, Jordan King, Sam Tordoff, Tom Sharp and Joe Osborne have been removed from the scheme for the new season.