Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Clio Series Drive For JSCC Champ Dorlin

1 Mins read

Reigning Junior Saloon Car Champion James Dorlin will graduate to the Michelin Clio Cup Series in 2015 with leading outfit Westbourne Motorsport.

Dorlin enjoyed a prize test in one a Westbourne Clio last November after winning the 2014 JSCC title with eight wins in fourteen races, having finished vice-champion in his maiden season in 2013.

The 15 year old will have to miss the opening three races of the championship though, with him not reaching the minimum age limit of sixteen until a week after the Rockingham opener.

The Barnsley-based racer will therefore make his Clio Cup Series debut at Thruxton in June, a circuit he tested at last week in a third-generation Clio Cup car alongside Westbourne driver coach Ed Pead.

“I am really pleased to be part of the Westbourne team for my move into the Race Series, it’s a big step up from the JSCC but one I am committed to and greatly looking forward to,” said Dorlin.

“It is disappointing that I can’t race until the second meeting at Thruxton in mid-June, but we intend to test during the interim period and then aim to hit the ground running when my season gets properly underway.”

Dorlin is Westbourne’s third entrant for the Race Series, with third year runners Luke Herbert and Sam Randon already confirmed at the team.

“James is great to work with. He is very focused, listens well and is certainly a natural talent,” added Westbourne’s Richard Colburn.

“He really impressed both Ed [Pead] and I with his ability to be on the pace so quickly – he is certainly one to watch this year. I am confident he will be a contender when his season starts at Thruxton.”

Westbourne Motorsport won the Road Series title last year with Anton Spires and alongside their multi-car assault on the Race Series, the team plans to return to defend their Road crown this year.


4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply