Evans and Barritt Crowned Kings of the Wheel Change in Argentina

by Vince Pettit

Elfyn Evans and Dan Barritt upheld the pride of the M-Sport World Rally Team in the inaugural WRC TV Wheel Change Challenge in Villa Carlos Paz ahead of the XION Rally Argentina 2015.

11 FIA World Rally Championship crews went up against each other to see who could unfasten their seat beats, get out of the car and change their left rear wheel before packing away the jack and tyre in the back of the car and running to collect an Argentine flag to signal the completion of the challenge.

Evans and Barritt blitzed their opposition in an impressive 46.00 seconds, with Theirry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul taking 47.07 seconds and the World Champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassa taking 47.13 seconds.

“It worked out really well, but let’s hope we don’t have to put it into more practice on the rally! We’ve spent quite a lot of time over the last few years trying to get the best system and it showed. It’s a great way to start the event but repeating this win on the rally might prove a bit more difficult,” said Evans after the challenge.

Martin Prokop and Jan Tománek took the longest time to change their wheel with a time of 3 minutes 8 seconds, they did however make sure that safety was paramount as they donned their high-visibility jackets before starting the challenge.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More