FIA World Rally Championship

Meeke Becomes First Briton To Win In WRC In 13 Years

1 Mins read

It was a proud day for motorsport communities across Britain and Ireland as Northern Ireland’s Kris Meeke and Irishman Paul Nagle secure victory on the XION Rally Argentina, round four of the FIA World Rally Championship. Nagle is the first Irish co-driver to secure a victory since Ronan McNamee in 1989 while Meeke was the first Briton to secure victory in the series since Colin McRae won the 2002 Safari Rally.

Indeed it was that very man that the Northern Irishman dedicated his Argentine win to, with an emotional Meeke paying tribute to McRae .

“What can I say? It’s been a long road… and the man who did most is not here,” said Meeke ” “Everything was fine until we got the end of the last stage. Once we had crossed the line, I was overcome with emotions. It’ll take time for it to really sink in. I didn’t start the rally aiming to fight for the win. I just wanted to have an error-free rally. “

The Briton was pushed all the way by his Citroen team-mate Mads Ostberg. The Norwegian had to overcome engine issues early in the event while also battling illness on his way to second place.

“It’s a fantastic result for the whole team, which is obviously very encouraging for the rallies to come.” said Ostberg, “We came hoping to fight for place on the podium, but finishing with the two DS 3 WRC first and second is a great performance. The DS brand has given us a huge amount of support, so I’m pleased we have been able to bring home a result like this!”

The Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team move into second place in the manufacturers championship thanks to this result.

Related posts
FIA World Rally Championship

Ypres Replaces Rally GB on 2021 WRC Calendar

2 Mins read
The Ypres Rally in Belgium will replace Rally GB in the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship.
FIA World Rally ChampionshipWRC2

M-Sport Ford Sign Greensmith for 2021 WRC, Suninen and Fourmaux to Share Second Car

4 Mins read
Gus Greensmith will compete full time in the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship with M-Sport Ford, with Teemu Suninen and Adrien Fourmaux sharing the team’s second car throughout the season.
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCNational RallyOpinionRallyWRC2WRC3

FEATURE: The New Rally Pyramid - Everything You Need To Know

5 Mins read
The FIA have recently introduced a new rallying pyramid into the sport and this handy guide will explain what each class is all about.

Leave a Reply