15 Crews Entered For Second Round of JWRC

This weekend’s Vodafone Rally De Portugal host the second round of the 2015 FIA Junior World Rally Championship and sees an entry of 15 crews ready to tackle the European event. After a fascinating first round on Monte Carlo which saw French driver Quentin Gilbert take victory.

Gilbert is the pre-event favourite coming into Portugal and will be looking to capitalise on the absence of Christian Riedemann who is second in the championship at the minute. Third in the championship is Ole Christian Veiby, the Norwegian also leads the WRC3 category thanks to his victory in the category in Sweden.

Attention will also be on Irishman Daniel McKenna who impressed in Monte Carlo despite his retirement. The 2014 British Rally Champion won the opening stage of the event in Monte Carlo and set a competitive pace before his gearbox failed. There is added excitement among British fans as Osian Pryce will enter the series in Portugal rekindling his rivalry with McKenna which was so prominent during the 2014 BRC season.

Although they missed the opening round on the Mediterranean coast, the Emirati Mohammed Al Mutawaa, the Finn Henri Haapamaki and the Swiss Federico Della Casa all competed in the 2014 FIA Junior WRC and begin their campaign this year in Portugal.

Dean Raftery, Jean Rene Perry and Matthieu Margaillen will also make their first appearance in the JWRC this weekend. 18 year old Pierre-Louis Loubet will tackle only his second rally when he crosses the start line in Portugal. The Frenchman is the son of Yves Loubet who was European Champion and claimed four podium finishes in the WRC.

The winners of the JWRC will win a fully supported season in a Citroen DS3 R5 in the WRC2 caregory next season.

Portugal entry list

#51 – Charlotte Dalmasso (FRA) / Marine Delon (FRA)
#52 – Simone Tempestini (ITA) / Matteo Chiarcossi (ITA)
#53 – Ole Christian Veiby (NOR) / Anders Jaeger (NOR)
#54 – Daniel Mc Kenna (IRL) / Andrew Grennan (IRL)
#55 – Mohammed Al Mutawaa (ARE) / Stephen McAuley (GBR)
#58 – Terry Folb (FRA) / Franck Le Floch (FRA)
#59 – Kornel Lukacs (HUN) / Mark Mesterhazi (HUN)
#60 – Quentin Gilbert (FRA) / Renaud Jamoul (BEL)
#62 – Henri Haapamäki (FIN) / Marko Salminen (FIN)
#63 – Federico Della Casa (CHE) / Domenico Pozzi (ITA)
#64 – Osian Pryce (GBR) / Dale Furniss (GBR)
#65 – Pierre-Louis Loubet (FRA) / Victor Bellotto (FRA)
#66 – Jean-René Perry (FRA) / Joshua Reibel (FRA)
#67 – Dean Raftery (IRL) / John Higgins (IRL)
#68 – Matthieu Margaillan (FRA) / Mathilde Margaillan (FRA)