FIA World Rally Championship

Latvala Leads Volkswagen 1-2-3 in Portugal

1 Mins read

The final day of the 2015 Rally de Portugal has finished, and Jari-Matti Latvala has won the event, ahead of Volkswagen Motorsport teammates Sébastien Ogier and Andreas Mikkelsen.

Day four started at Fafe, and Ogier won the stage, setting a time 1.7 seconds faster than the eventual winner, closing the overall gap to 7.8 seconds. The penultimate test of the rally was SS15, and held at Vieira do Minho, in which Latvala once again set the quickest time, removing any progress that his teammate had made on him previously.

At 11:08, the Power Stage started, and was another run of Fafe. Ogier set the fastest time, 2.2 seconds ahead of Latvala. However, the Frenchman’s time was no-where near fast enough to take the overall win, and so Jari-Matti Latvala comes away from Portugal as the winner.

With a time of 3:30:35.3, Jari-Matti Latvala won 2015 Rally de Portugal. In second was Sébastien Ogier, 8.2 seconds slower. Rounding out an all-Volkswagen podium is Andreas Mikkelsen, 28.6 seconds behind. Citroën’s Kris Meeke came home fourth, ahead of Ott Tänak, Dani Sordo, Mads Østberg and Hayden Paddon. The top-10 was completed by Robert Kubica and Martin Prokop.

The next event in the 2015 FIA World Rally Championship will be Rally d’Italia Sardegna, and is set to take place on June 12-14.

321 posts

About author
Jake covers sportscars for The Checkered Flag, mainly Tudor United SportsCar Championship and World Endurance Championship, along with a variety of other series including World Rally Championship.
Related posts
FIA World Rally Championship

Central Europe Rally announces thrilling route for FIA World Rally Championship penultimate round

1 Mins read
The Central Europe Rally, set to host the penultimate round of this year’s FIA World Rally Championship, revealed its exciting route across three countries. With stages in Germany, Czech Republic, and Austria, the rally promises high-speed action and challenging terrain for competitors aiming to secure vital points in the championship battle.
FIA World Rally Championship

2023 Rally Finland entry list officially published

2 Mins read
68 crews will take on the 2023 edition of Rally Finland on 3-6 August.
FIA World Rally Championship

Dates confirmed for the 2024 Rally Sweden

1 Mins read
Rally Sweden organizers have announced the dates for the 2024 FIA World Rally Championship round two