2015 24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour 1 update – Porsche dominate opening hour

by Vince Pettit

The 83rd edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans is underway and at the first hour mark the #17 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brandon Hartley lead the way over the #18 Porsche 919 Hybrid and the #8 Audi R18 e-tron Quattro of Loic Duval, Lucas di Grassi and Oliver Jarvis.

The story on the mark of the hour though is an engine failure followed by a fire on the #92 Porsche Team Manthey 911 RSR  with Patrick Pilet on board at the Forza chicane, the resulting oil on track would see the #13 Rebellion Racing R-One – AER piloted by Alexandre Imperatori spin in to the gravel bringing out a safety car situation as the race entered a full-course yellow period.

Prior to the race start it was announce that the #23 Nissan GT-R LM Nismo of Oliver Pla, Jann Mardenborough and Max Chilton would start from the pitlane due to clutch problems, at the end of hour 1 they were 7 laps down.

The LMP2 field has seen some great battles already and is currently lead by the #46 Thirlet by TDS Racing Oreca 05 – Nissan of Tristian Gommendy, Ludovic Badey and Pierre Thiriet. Class pole-sitters in the #47 KCMG Oreca 05 – Nissan remain in second place followed by the #26 G-Drive Ligier JS P2 – Nissan.

Credit: Aston Martin Racing

Credit: Aston Martin Racing

In the LM GTE Pro class it is all about Aston Martin at the front with the #95 Aston Martin Vantage V8 of Nicki Thiim, Christoffer Nygaard and Marco Sorensen as the clock passed the hour mark but the early stages of the hour saw a lead change three times. In second place the #51 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia sat comfortably in front of the #97 Aston Martin Vantage V8.

The LM GTE Am class sees the #72 SMP Racing Ferrari 458 Italia head up the #98 Aston Martin Vantage V8 and the #55 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia.

Top 3 positions after Hour 1 of the 83rd 24 Hours of Le Mans


  • #17 Porsche 919 Hybrid – Webber/Hartley/Bernhard
  • #18 Porsche 919 Hybrid – Jani/Lieb/Dumas
  • #8 Audi R18 e-tron Quattro – Duval/di Grassi/Jarvis


  • #46 Thirlet by TDS Racing Oreca 05 -Nissan – Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy
  • #47 KCMG Oreca 05 – Nissan – Howson/Lapierre/Bradley
  • #26 G-Drive Ligier JS P2 – Nissan – Rusinov/Canal/Bird


  • #95 Aston Martin Vantage V8 – Sorensen/Thiim/Nygaard
  • #51 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia – Bruni/Vilander/Fisichella
  • #97 Aston Martin Vantage V8 – Turner/Mucke/Bell


  • #72 SMP Racing Ferrari 458 Italia – Shaitar/Bertolini/Basov
  • #98 Aston Martin Vantage V8 – Lamy/Lauda/Dalla Lana
  • #55 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia – Cameron/Griffin/Mortimer

Follow the action LIVE with the TCF live blog here.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More