2015 24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour 11 Update – Nissan retire as Porsche head for the gravel

The eleventh hour started under with a slow zone while the marshals worked to recover the striken #21 Nissan GT-R LM Nismo from Mulsanne corner. With the Nissan out of the way the racing resumed but it wouldn’t be too long before there was further incidents as the #83 Ferrari limped back to the pits with smoke pluming from the front right corner of the car.

There was drama 20 minutes in to the eleventh hour when the #18 Porsche 919 Hybrid ended up in the gravel at Mulsanne Corner, while the car would be recovered, it would drop a place to the #8 Audi R-18 e-tron Quatro of Loic Duval.

“I locked the wheels under braking and went straight into the barriers. I broke the front nose, which is annoying, but still we were lucky and were able to continue.” said Romain Dumas who was at the wheel of the Porsche at the time of the incident.

The #30 Ligier would face a 55 second stop/go penalty for speeding in the pitlane.

On the stroke of 01:46 local time, Nissan finally pulled  the plug on the #21 car and officially retired the car.

In the LMP1 class it was the same top three with the exception being a change of position between the #9 and #7 Audi R18 e-tron quattro’s after pit stops.

No change at the top of the LMP2 class as KCMG continue their domination of the class with Thiriet by TDS Racing and G-Drive Racing filling out second and third.

It was a similar story in the LM GTE Pro class with the #64 Corvette passing the #91 Team Manthey Porsche 911.

In the LM GTE Am class there was little change with the exemption of the Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche moving in to the top three as Patrick Long pushed on.

Top 3 positions in each class after Hour 11 of the 83rd 24 Hours of Le Mans


  • #19 Porsche 919 Hybrid – Hulkenberg/Bamber/Tandy
  • #9 Audi R18 e-tron quattro – Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Rast
  • #7 Audi R18 e-tron quattro – Fassler/Treluyer/Lotterer


  • #47 KCMG Oreca 05 – Nissan – Howson/Bradley/Lapierre
  • #46 Thiriet by TDS Racing Oreca 05 – Nissan – Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy
  • #26 G-Drive Racing Ligier JS P2 – Bird/Rusinov/Canal


  • #99 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 – Rees/MacDowall/Stanaway
  • #64 Corvette Racing C7R – Gavin/Milner/Taylor
  • #91 Team Manthey Porsche 991 – Lietz/Christensen/Bergmeister


  • #98 Aston Martin Racing V8 – Dalla Lana/Lauda/Lamy
  • #72 SMP Racing Ferrari 458 Italia – Shaytar/Bertolini/Basov
  • #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR – Dempsey/Long/Seefried

Follow the action LIVE with the TCF live blog here.