20 Cars Taking Part in WEC Nurburgring Test

The Nurburgring replaces Interlagos on the 2015 FIA World Endurance Championship calendar and is a circuit few teams are familiar with.

Toyota took advantage of this by organising a two day test and inviting the rest of the grid to take part. Teams from all four classes are set to participate in the test, with 20 cars on the provisional entry list.

In LMP1, there will be a Toyota TS040 driven by Anthony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Alex Wurz. Porsche and Audi also have one car each, the former driven by Timo Bernhard, Marc Lieb, Brendon Hartley and Roman Dumas, and the latter by Benoit Treluyer, Andre Lotterer, Lucas di Grassi and Loic Duval. Nissan have instead decided to test separately in the USA.

Rebellion Racing are not attending, but ByKolles will, with drivers yet to be announced.

6 LMP2 cars are scheduled to test with Signatech and Oak Racing the only full-time entries not on the list. G-Drive will bring one Ligier Nissan which will have Sam Bird and Roman Rusinov behind the wheel. All six drivers at Extreme Speed Motorsports will share the team’s two Ligier Hondas.

Strakka Racing recently completed a shakedown of their new Gibson 015S and all three drivers are eager to test out the new machine. The two remaining LMP2 teams on the entry list are Team SARD Morand with drivers TBA and KCMG, who have Richard Bradley, Matt Howson and Nick Tandy.

Both of AF Corse‘s LMGTE Pro Ferraris will take part with all full-season drivers entering. Both of Porsche Team Manthey‘s cars are on the list but with only two drivers – Richard Lietz and Michael Christensen. Meanwhile, Nicki Thiim, Christoffer Nygaard, Marco Sorensen, Fernando Rees and Richie Stanaway will all share a single Aston Martin.

Finally, there are five LMGTE Am cars listed. SMP Racing have their Le Mans-winning Ferrari, and AF Corse have their #83 car and drivers. Proton Competition have both the #77 and #88 and all six full-season drivers. Finally, Aston Martin have the #98 Am car.

The test takes place on Monday and Tuesday (July 27-28) and the public are invited to spectate on the 2nd day.