FIA alter Superlicence points allocations after criticism

The FIA have announced alterations to their Superlicence points system after criticism about their initial plans.

The FIA had introduced the new rulings, set to come into effect in 2016, in a bid to ensure drivers have sufficient experience in racing before entering Formula 1, with a minimal age cap of eighteen and a set number of points earned in junior categories.

In the initial plans, some series disputed the amount of points it was being awarded towards the Superlicence, while other series’ were ignored completely.

With 40 points over a three-year period required to be eligible for a Superlicence, the winners of the yet-to-be-confirmed returning Formula 2 championship will automatically receive one, as will its runner-up and third placed drivers.

The GP2 Series is now equal with Formula 2, with 40 points on offer for the top two in the championship, while the champion in the European Formula 3 Championship will also achieve the magical 40-point target.

Likewise, the American based IndyCar champion and the LMP1 Championship winners of the World Endurance Championship will also be eligible for a Superlicence.

The Formula Renault 3.5 Series has been upgraded since the original plans, with its champion now receiving 35 points towards a Superlicence, but unless the driver has points from previous seasons, it means the champion will not be eligible for a Superlicence.

Other series’ now included on the list are the World Touring Car Championship and DTM Series, while Senior level Karting is also added, albeit with a maximum of 5 points for the champion on offer.

In other changes to the ruling, drivers who earn a Superlicence but only secure a test role will keep their licence for a three-year period. This in particular will assist current Williams F1 Team test driver Susie Wolff, who would not be able to earn a licence from her racing achievements over the past three years.

Additionally, the champion of the FIA Formula E Championship will also be eligible for a Superlicence, though the series does not appear on the official list of qualifying championships.

Updated Formula 1 Superlicence Points System

Future FIA F2 Championship 4040403020108643
GP2 Series404030201086432
FIA F3 European Championship 40302010864321
World Endurance Championship - LMP140302010864321
Indy Car40302010864321
Formula Renault 3.5 Series352520151075321
GP3 Series30201510753210
Japanese Super Formula 25201510753210
World Touring Car Championship1512107532100
DTM Series1512107532100
Indy Lights1512107532100
National FIA Formula 4 Championships 121075321000
National F3 Championships 10753100000
Formula Renault (EuroCup, ALPS or NEC) 10753100000
CIK-FIA World Championships in Senior Cat. 5321000000