FIA approve 21-race 2016 Formula 1 season

The FIA have announced that the 2016 Formula 1 Season will begin later than in 2015 and contain more races after the World Motor Sport Council meeting in Mexico, while the announcement also sees a reshuffle of the schedule.

The Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park will remain the season opener but will now take place on the first weekend of April rather than during March as has been seen in recent years, with Abu Dhabi once again hosting the season finale at the end of November.

The Malaysian Grand Prix, which has been hosting the second race of the season in recent years, has been moved to September as a double header with the Singapore Grand Prix, with the Chinese Grand Prix now race two a week after the race in Australia.

The Russian Grand Prix at Sochi is also moving, with the third running of the event set to be the fourth round of the season at the beginning of May rather than its current October slot.

The European Grand Prix at Baku in Azerbaijan has been allotted a date of July 17, two weeks after the Austrian Grand Prix and two weeks before the German Grand Prix, which makes a return after being absent from the 2015 calendar.

2016 Formula 1 Schedule

April 03Australian Grand PrixMelbourne
April 10Chinese Grand PrixShanghai
April 24Bahrain Grand PrixSakhir
May 01Russian Grand PrixSochi
May 15 Spanish Grand PrixCatalunya
May 29Monaco Grand PrixMonte Carlo
June 12Canadian Grand PrixMontreal
June 26British Grand PrixSilverstone
July 03Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring
July 17European Grand PrixBaku
July 31German Grand PrixHockenheim
August 07Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring
August 28Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps
September 04Italian Grand PrixMonza
September 18Singapore Grand PrixSingapore
September 25Malaysian Grand PrixSepang
October 09Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka
October 23United States Grand PrixAustin
October 30Mexican Grand PrixMexico City
November 13Brazilian Grand PrixInterlagos
November 27Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina