FIA World Rallycross

Peugeot-Hansen Eager For Turkey WorldRX

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA World Rallycross Championship

Team Peugeot-Hansen are looking forward to returning to the Turkish Istanbul Park Circuit which plays host to Round Eleven of the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship.

So far this season has seen the team take four victories through the talents of Timmy Hansen and Davy Jeanney whilst Hansen has been fastest overall in the overnight classification for the past five events in a row.

As WorldRX returns to Turkey, scene of Timmy Hansen’s hard-fought second place finish behind 2014 winner Andreas Bakkerud, the team are hopeful of continuing their good form at Rallycross tracks that are designed using parts of established motorsport circuits.

During its time as home to the Turkish Formula One Grand Prix, the circuit was famous for such corners as the four apex “Turn Eight” and the final chicane which provided so much action. The chicane itself is incorporated into the Rallycross track and the transition from dirt to ashphalt can be tricky.

Team Principal Kenneth Hansen is looking forward to returning to the challenging circuit layout this weekend.

“Last year, we were very fast in Istanbul and finished second in the final,” explains Hansen. “It is the kind of circuit that will very quickly catch out the unwary. It uses the final corners of the Formula 1 track, whilst the gravel section is fairly slippery, which makes establishing a good set-up a tricky task.

“That said, we found a solid baseline in 2014 and we will see if that works on this year’s car. If it does, I am confident that both Timmy and Davy will be firmly in contention. Whatever happens, be assured that we will give it our all to increase our lead in the Teams’ championship, which is our chief objective.”

892 posts

About author
I have been a very passionate fan of Motorsport for over 30 years with Touring Cars as my favourite form of Motor Racing. I cover The TCR UK Series, The TCR Europe Series and The FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) as well as following various TCR Series around the world.
Related posts
FIA World Rallycross

Hansen World RX Team Confirm All-Electric Line-Up

1 Mins read
The Hansen brothers stay as drivers for the Hansen World RX Team’s all-electric effort for 2024.
FIA World Rallycross

Timo Scheider Voted 2023 Driver Of The Year By World Rallycross Fans

3 Mins read
Timo Scheider is the Driver Of The Year from 2023’s FIA World Rallycross Championship, as voted for by rallycross fans online.
FIA World RallycrossSeason Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2023 FIA World Rallycross Championship

7 Mins read
Featuring electrifying action, great battles, superb racing, and off-track drama, the 2023 FIA World Rallycross Championship was certainly one to remember.