World Motor Sport Council ratifies revised 2016 F1 calendar

The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council has confirmed the provisional 2016 Formula 1 calendar, with the latest schedule showing the season starting once more in March.

The initial schedule had seen a more compressed season that would have started at the beginning of April, but due to concerns about the lack of the mid-season break, some events have had their dates changed, including the opening race of the season in Australia, which now holds a 20 March date.

The new calendar has been ratified by the WMSC, with the Malaysian Grand Prix now being held on 02 October, a week before the MotoGP event at the same circuit, the first time the two events will run back-to-back.

The European Grand Prix at Baku in Azerbaijan has also had its date altered, with the new-for-2016 event now taking place on 19 June, the same date as the 24 Hours of Le Mans, putting Nico Hulkenberg’s plans to defend his race victory in doubt.

2016 Formula 1 Provisional Schedule

March 20Australian Grand PrixMelbourne
April 03Bahrain Grand PrixSakhir
April 10Chinese Grand PrixShanghai
May 01Russian Grand PrixSochi
May 15 Spanish Grand PrixCatalunya
May 29Monaco Grand PrixMonte Carlo
June 12Canadian Grand PrixMontreal
June 19European Grand PrixBaku
July 03Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring
July 10British Grand PrixSilverstone
July 24Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring
July 31German Grand PrixHockenheim
August 28Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps
September 04Italian Grand PrixMonza
September 18Singapore Grand PrixSingapore
October 02Malaysian Grand PrixSepang
October 09Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka
October 23United States Grand PrixAustin
November 06Mexican Grand PrixMexico City
November 13Brazilian Grand PrixInterlagos
November 27Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina