Formula 1

Customer teams forced to wait for upgraded Mercedes power units

1 Mins read

The three customer teams using Mercedes power units in Formula 1 will not receive the latest specification engine this season.

According to Autosport, due to the inability to produce enough of the latest specification parts, Sahara Force India, Williams Martini Racing and the Lotus F1 Team will be forced to continue with the early versions of the engine until the end of the season.

Only the Mercedes AMG PETRONAS team have been able to use the latest version of the engine, with Lewis Hamilton set to use his second such engine in Russia, which will be his fourth power unit of the season.

As well as Hamilton, the remaining Mercedes-powered drivers are all set to move onto their fourth power unit at Sochi, apart from Nico Rosberg and Nico Hulkenberg, who are already using their fourth units.

The delay in introducing the new power units to the customer teams means it will be pre-season testing in 2016 before the customer teams will be able to run with the upgraded units.

Related posts
Formula 1

Daniel Ricciardo: "In terms of our race, it certainly wasn't what we wanted"

3 Mins read
Renault DP World F1 Team were left disappointed with results at a race they should have picked up big points.
Formula 1

Sergio Perez: "It was certainly hard to get back into the car after seeing something like that"

4 Mins read
No points for BWT Racing Point Formula One Team with a brutal last minute podium loss for Sergio Pérez. However, the team all had Romain Grosjean at the back of their mind.
Formula 1

Grosjean gives update from hospital bed following horror Bahrain crash

2 Mins read
Romain Grosjean has given an update from his hospital bed and Team Principal Guenther Steiner praises rescue efforts following the Frenchman’s lucky escape.

Leave a Reply