Rosberg leads Hamilton in final Mexican practice

Mercedes AMG PETRONAS duo Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton led the way in final practice at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez on Saturday morning.

Rosberg set a time of 1m21.083s to take top spot, but was just 0.014s faster than his World Champion team-mate Hamilton.

Conditions were once again slippery due to more rain overnight, but the session started in the dry, and eventually rubbered in once more, with lap times tumbling in the closing stages.

Daniel Ricciardo finished the session in third for the Infiniti Red Bull Racing, and will be buoyed by the performance of his car that saw him miss out on top spot by just 0.118s.

Sebastian Vettel was amongst the first drivers to run the soft Pirelli tyres during the session and finished fourth fastest for the Scuderia Ferrari team, but team-mate Kimi Raikkonen was forced to stop after just four laps with an apparent engine failure.

The second Red Bull of Daniil Kvyat was fifth ahead of home hero Sergio Perez of the Sahara Force India team, with Valtteri Bottas seventh for Williams Martini Racing.

Carlos Sainz Jr was eighth for Scuderia Toro Rosso ahead of the second Williams of Felipe Massa, while Nico Hulkenberg rounded out the top ten in the second Force India.

Jenson Button spent most of the session in the pits with an issue with his power unit after experiencing vibrations at low revs in his McLaren-Honda, and finished twentieth and last, just behind Alexander Rossi in the Manor.

Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Free Practice 3 Times

16Nico RosbergGERMercedes1m21.083s
244Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes1m21.097s
33Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull-Renault1m21.201s
45Sebastian VettelGERFerrari1m21.294s
526Daniil KvyatRUSRed Bull-Renault1m21.530s
611Sergio PerezMEXForce India-Mercedes1m21.603s
777Valtteri BottasFINWilliams-Mercedes1m21.772s
855Carlos Sainz JrESPToro Rosso-Renault1m21.775s
919Felipe MassaBRZWilliams-Mercedes1m21.945s
1027Nico HulkenbergGERForce India-Mercedes1m22.010s
1133Max VerstappenNEDToro Rosso-Renault1m22.039s
1213Pastor MaldonadoVENLotus-Mercedes1m22.042s
138Romain GrosjeanFRALotus-Mercedes1m22.184s
149Marcus EricssonSWESauber-Ferrari1m22.871s
1514Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren-Honda1m23.065s
1612Felipe NasrBRZSauber-Ferrari1m23.067s
177Kimi RaikkonenFINFerrari1m24.648s
1828Will StevensGBRManor-Ferrari1m25.654s
1953Alexander RossiUSAManor-Ferrari1m28.176s
2022Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren-Honda1m29.336s