RP Motorsport moves up to Formula 3.5 V8 in 2016

2014 EuroFormula Open championship winners RP Motorsport have announced they will compete in the 2016 Formula 3.5 V8 Championship.

The team took Sandy Stuvik to the EuroFormula Open title in 2014, and are on the verge of seeing Vitor Baptista claim the 2015 crown, but now will make the step up into the series that has been renamed following Renault’s withdrawal from promoting the championship.

RP Motorsport Team Principal Fabio Pampado has revealed he is extremely happy to be joining the series for 2016, and is looking forward to the new challenge for his outfit.

“I am delighted to be part of the new era for such an historical championship,” said Pampado. “Many Formula 1 and professional racers made their breakthrough in the RPM-managed series, and this is a clear sign of the great job done by the organisation from both the technical and competitive standpoints.

“For our team, joining this amazing series is definitely a new challenge, but it will not be the first time for us working with such powerful cars, and we are ready to go.”

RP Motorsport have become the third new team to arrive in the championship, after Spirit of Race and Teo Martin Motorsport, following the announcement that Jaime Alguersuari Sr’s RPM Racing would be taking over the promotion of the championship, with the Spaniard pleased to see new teams joining.

“It is a great pleasure to welcome a new team in our family,” said Alguersuari Sr. “As a matter of fact, RP Motorsport is one of the most winning and highly-professional teams in Formula 3 competition.

“This addition will definitely help us to bring more brilliant young drivers to the championship. At RPM, we are always happy to see new teams joining us and personally it is fantastic to see how many people are looking forward to join us for this new adventure.”