Dillmann sets the pace on day two at Motorland Aragon

Frenchman Tom Dillmann set the pace in both sessions on day two of the Formula 3.5 V8 test at Motorland Aragon on Thursday.

Dillmann, testing with the Adrian Vallés-led AVF team, set a time of 1m40.941s in the morning session, and bettered it with a time of 1m40.728s in the afternoon, with the former Carlin driver the only driver to get beneath the 1m41s barrier all day.

Egor Orudzhev was the closest to Dillmann’s time, with the Arden Motorsport driver setting a time of 1m41.101s, just ahead of British racers Jake Hughes and Jack Aitken, both who were representing Strakka Racing.

Alfonso Celis Jr completed the top five in the second AVF machine, just ahead of Louis Deletraz, who continued his running with the Fortec Motorsports team in the car that took Oliver Rowland to the Formula Renault 3.5 Series title in 2015.

Deletraz’s 2015 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series team-mate at Josef Kaufmann Racing, Kevin Jörg, was seventh fastest on Thursday, ahead of Tech 1 Racing’s Aurélien Panis, while Daniel de Jong ended ninth for Lotus, the Dutchman testing a car for the first time since injuring his back in a high speed crash during a GP2 Series race at Spa-Francorchamps earlier this year.

Yu Kanamaru completed the top ten for Pons Racing, ahead of Spirit of Race’s Russian duo Vladimir Atoev and Nikita Zlobin, with Alex Bosak next up in the second Fortec Motorsports machine.

Roy Nissany returned to Tech 1 Racing and set the fourteenth fastest time, ahead of Tatiana Calderon for Pons Racing and Guillaume Cunnington for Lotus.

Neither Carlin nor Comtec Racing tested on Thursday having run on Wednesday at the circuit, while testing at the Spanish circuit concludes on Friday.

Motorland Aragon Day 2 Test Times

1Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m40.941s1m40.728s
2Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m42.147s1m41.101s
3Jake HughesGBRStrakka Racing1m41.548s1m41.148s
4Jack AitkenGBRStrakka Racing1m41.987s1m41.168s
5Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m41.654s1m41.244s
6Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1m42.324s1m41.467s
7Kevin JorgSWIArden Motorsport1m41.951s1m41.822s
8Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m43.336s1m42.018s
9Daniel de JongNEDLotus1m42.212s1m42.052s
10Yu KanamaruJAPPons Racing1m42.306s1m42.250s
11Vladimir AtoevRUSSpirit of Race1m42.400s1m42.341s
12Nikita ZlobinRUSSpirit of Race1m43.381s1m42.432s
13Alex BosakPOLFortec Motorsports1m42.717s1m42.566s
14Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m44.061s1m43.061s
15Tatiana CalderonCOLPons Racing1m43.510s1m43.217s
16Guillaume CunningtonFRALotus1m49.566s1m48.569s