Formula 1

Rosberg tops second practice in Brazil

1 Mins read

Nico Rosberg led the way in free practice two of the Brazilian Grand Prix with a time of 1m12.385s for the Mercedes AMG PETRONAS team.

It was a one-two for the team again, with FP1 pacesetter Lewis Hamilton 0.458s behind in second, while Sebastian Vettel was third quickest for Scuderia Ferrari with a time of 1m13.345s.  The second Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen was fourth, 1.115s back on Rosberg’s time.

Daniel Ricciardo finished fifth for Infiniti Red Bull Racing with a time of 1m13.585s as he continue to run with the upgraded Renault engine, just ahead of the leading Williams Martini Racing entry of Valtteri BottasLotus F1 Team driver Romain Grosjean ended seventh ahead of the first Sahara Force India of Nico Hulkenberg.

Daniil Kvyat made it two Red Bulls in the top ten, with home hero Felipe Massa completing the top ten for Williams with a time of 1m13.870s, only 0.267s behind Finnish team-mate.

Sergio Perez was eleventh for Force India with a time of 1m14.056s ahead of the second Lotus of Pastor Maldonado, while Sauber F1 Team driver and the second Brazilian in the field Felipe Nasr leading the two Scuderia Toro Rosso drivers Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz.

Jenson Button was the quickest of the two McLaren-Honda drivers in sixteenth with a time of 1m14.644s ahead of the second Sauber of Marcus Ericsson, but the other McLaren driver, Fernando Alonso, stopped on track at turn ten after reporting of a “power problem”. The Spaniard finished his session with a time of 1m15.129s down in eighteenth for the team.

Will Stevens finished ahead of Manor F1 Team team-mate Alexander Rossi at the back of the field.

Interlagos Free Practice 2 Result

[table id=768 /]

Related posts
Formula 1

Sebastian Vettel: “Maybe we could have finished a bit higher up if things had been perfect”

2 Mins read
Both Sebastian Vettel and Lance Stroll scored points in Sunday’s French Grand Prix
Formula 1

Fernando Alonso: “We can be a bit more relaxed that this is our real position”

2 Mins read
Fernando Alonso finished eighth and Esteban Ocon fourteenth in Alpine’s home Grand Prix in France on Sunday.
Formula 1

"Pierre did a fantastic job at attacking and defending" - AlphaTauri's Guillaume Dezoteux

2 Mins read
Pierre Gasly added more points to Scuderia AlphaTauri Hondas campaign this season, after an excellent home grand prix to finish seventh in France. Yuki Tsunoda finished thirteenth having started from the pit-lane.