Michelin Clio Cup Series

2016 Michelin Clio Cup Series Calendar Announced

1 Mins read

The Michelin Clio Cup Series will run over seven race weekends next season, visiting Pembrey and Anglesey for the first time.

Alongside the two visits to Wales, the championship will travel the length and breadth of England during the season, which will run from March 19 to October 9.

The season opener will take place at Oulton Park, with visits to Pembrey, Rockingham, Brands Hatch and Croft following before a six week break.

After heading to Anglesey in early September, the season comes to a close at the ‘Home of British Motorsport’ Silverstone in October.

The new additions mean the calendar gains a meeting from 2015, with Thruxton the only championship not to return next year.

Provisional 2016 Michelin Clio Cup Series Calendar:

March 19 – Oulton Park
April 23/24 – Pembrey
May 28/29 – Rockingham
June 25/26 – Brands Hatch
July 23/24 – Croft
September 3/4 – Anglesey
October 8/9 – Silverstone International

The calendar announcement comes as the championship confirms its continued support from Michelin Tyres for the 2016 season.

“The Clio Cup Series, with the backing of Michelin, provides the most cost-effective route into ‘tin-top’ competition,” said the BARC’s General Manager, Ian Watson.

“It is perfect for the competitor targeting a future in this kind of racing, and taking the route through the Clio Cup Series into the Renault UK Clio Cup and then onto British Touring Cars makes sense.”

A new promoter for the championship has not yet been named, following the withdrawal of Grovewood at the end of this season.

Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply