WorldRX and EuroRX To Run Seperate Heats in 2016

In a move made at the recent December meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, the entrants of the 2016 FIA European Rallycross Championship season will have their own dedicated heat races as Semi-Finals and Finals where the series holds an event at the same venue as FIA World Rallycross Championship on the same weekend. This means that there will now be no confusion regarding WorldRX and EuroRX competitors and that EuroRX drivers will race against their own rivals for the title.

With WorldRX, EuroRX and Rallycross in general seeing a big boost in popularity with fans, a gain of new drivers and teams competing against well known stars and a more expansive reach to fans and followers using both the internet and on Social Media, this decision means that EuroRX will gain even more following and exposure next season.

The European Rallycross Championship was formed back in 1973 and in 2014 with the formation of the World Championship, EuroRX was scaled back with drivers racing against WorldRX competitors throughout the heats, Semi-Finals and Finals, with eventual champion Robin Larsson scoring the most points that year.

2015 saw dedicated Semi-Finals and Finals for the EuroRX competitors with Tommy Rustad crowned champion in Italy.

The 2016 FIA European Rallycross Championship calendar was also confirmed at the FIA WMSC Meeting:

  • Mettet, Belgium 14-15 May
  • Hell, Norway 11-12 June
  • Holjes, Sweden 2-3 July
  • Barcelona, Spain 17-18 September
  • Riga, Latvia 1-2 October