KCMG Withdraws LMP2 Entry from 2016 WEC

1 Mins read

Hong Kong-based outfit KCMG will not return to the World Endurance Championship LMP2 class next year.

The team’s metallic-blue Oreca 05-Nissan has been sold ahead of the LMP2 regulations change which will come into force in 2017, according to

Paul Ip’s squad won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2015 with Richard Bradley, Matt Howson and Nicolas Lapierre behind the wheel.

Regular drivers Bradley and Howson were joined for much of the year by outright Le Mans winner Nick Tandy, who helped the team to victory at the Nurburgring as well as two other podiums.

In total, KCMG recorded 155 points in the 2016 WEC – with two wins – to finish second in the LMP2 standings behind champions G-Drive Racing.

Towards the end of the season KCMG was hurled into a case of controversy after a collision with the #28 G-Drive Racing Ligier at Fuji. The incident resulted in an immediate retirement and subsequent penalty for Ip’s team and contributed to the sister G-Drive car winning the championship.

In 2016 KCMG expects to compete at Le Mans, for which it has an automatic entry. A full-season WEC entry is also on the cards, with Porsche 911 squad Proton Competition mooted as a possible partner in the GTE-Am category.

Related posts
FeaturesFIA WEC

Conway, Lopez and Kobayashi Convert Pole to Championship Victory

4 Mins read
Mike Conway, Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi won the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship with a lights-to-flag victory whilst heartbreak hit Aston Martin as all their cars were plagued with brake issues.

Advantage Lopez, Conway, Kobayashi who Claim Pole for WEC Bahrain

3 Mins read
Mike Conway and Jose Maria Lopez have taken overall pole position for the 2020 FIA World Endurance Championship Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain, but GTE Pro qualifying became a confusing tale of track limits.

Preview: 2020 8 Hours of Bahrain - FIA World Endurance Championship

3 Mins read
Take a look at the class championship standings and the entry list of the 2020 Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain ahead of the finale of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply