FIA World Rally ChampionshipHistoric Rally

Rally legend Ragnotti brings Monte winning Renault 5 Turbo to 2016 Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique

1 Mins read

While the 2016 FIA World Rally Championship kick off this weekend in Monte-Carlo, the historic season starts next weekend and will see the return of the 1981 Rallye Monte-Carlo winning Renault 5 Turbo.

Winner of the 1981 French Renault Cross Elf Trophy and the Renault 5 GT Turbo Trophy in 1986, Jean Ragnotti will once again take to the roads between Reims and Monaco in his Renault 5 Turbo co-driven by Michel Duvernay; At the tender age of 70 the French rally veteran has lost none of his legendary driving skills.

Ragnotti will be joined by three other Renault drivers which include Michel Leclère winner of the Premier Pas Dunlop Coupe Gordini racing scholarship in 1969 which ultimately led to a drive in Formula 1, Alain Serpaggi and Christian Chambord all driving their Group 2 Renault 5 Alpine‘s.

Check out this video of Ragnotti in action on the 1981 Rallye Monte-Carlo…

Team Renault Classic will start the 2016 Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique in Reims, France, on January 29. The event ends in Monaco on Wednesday, February 3.

2983 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts
FIA World Rally Championship

Evans on fine form in Portugal after day 2

4 Mins read
Toyota’s Elfyn Evans continues to lead Rally de Portugal as the others are facing problems on the tricky roads while Teemu Suninen was graduated to ghe WRC2 lead as Andreas Mikkelsen retired due to a misfire and Sami Pajari has a comfortably lead in WRC3 / JWRC
FIA World Rally ChampionshipSportscars

TGR WRT team principal Latvala to race at Fuij 24 Hours

1 Mins read
Toyota’s Jari-Matti Latvala will contest the Fuij 24 Hours race next month Japan in a hydrogen powered Toyota Corolla alongside the drivers such as the Toyota president Akio Toyoda and Norihiko Katsuta
FIA World Rally Championship

Ogier retires from Rally de Portugal after a second puncture on SS7

1 Mins read
Toyota’s Sébastien Ogier has now forced to retire from Rally de Portugal after he suffered a second puncture on SS7 this afternoon