FIA WEC Entry List Announced

1 Mins read

A total of 32 entries will contest the full 2016 World Endurance Championship, the FIA has announced.

The list was unveiled on Friday by series CEO Gerard Neveu at the annual FIA preseason conference in Paris.

There is a fairly even spread in numbers across all four classes, although LMP2 is the largest category with 10 cars set to take part.

LMP1 is virtually unchanged from last year with Audi, Toyota and world champions Porsche all fielding two hybrid prototypes each.

They are once again joined by privateer outfits Rebellion Racing and Bykolles Racing Team, both of which retain the AER-powered prototypes used in 2015. Both teams will run on Dunlop tyres in 2016.

LMP2 is the class that features the most changes, with Formula One team Manor headlining the list of newcomers with an Oreca 05-Nissan. Other fresh faces include Mexico’s RGR Sport by Morand, Chinese squad Baxi DC Racing Alpine, and Russia’s SMP Racing which steps up from the European Le Mans Series (ELMS) after a year’s break from the class in FIA WEC.

Defending champion G-Drive Racing will return to the #26 berth this season, although the Russian team will sport only one FIA WEC entry this year after splitting its prototype program with Jota Sport in the ELMS.

Seven entries will take part in the GTE-Pro category, which includes Ford’s eagerly awaited two-car campaign that will double in size at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The blue oval will be joined by two AF Corse-run Ferrari 488s for the FIA WEC season, while Porsche’s factory program is now in the hands of Dempsey Proton Racing which will field the new Porsche 911 RSR.

Aston Martin Racing completes the class field with a brace of V8 Vantages.

The British marque continues its presence into the GTE-Am category, which sees a scaled back single car effort for the #99 crew. Other entries include KCMG, which moves across from LMP2, and Gulf Racing which most recently competed in the ELMS.

Meanwhile Larbre Competition, AF Corse and Abu Dhabi Proton Racing have all retained their places on the 2016 entry list.

2016 FIA World Endurance Championship Entry List

[table id=799 /]

Related posts
FeaturesFIA WEC

Conway, Lopez and Kobayashi Convert Pole to Championship Victory

4 Mins read
Mike Conway, Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi won the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship with a lights-to-flag victory whilst heartbreak hit Aston Martin as all their cars were plagued with brake issues.

Advantage Lopez, Conway, Kobayashi who Claim Pole for WEC Bahrain

3 Mins read
Mike Conway and Jose Maria Lopez have taken overall pole position for the 2020 FIA World Endurance Championship Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain, but GTE Pro qualifying became a confusing tale of track limits.

Preview: 2020 8 Hours of Bahrain - FIA World Endurance Championship

3 Mins read
Take a look at the class championship standings and the entry list of the 2020 Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain ahead of the finale of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply