Bottas leads Hamilton on day two in Spain

A run on the Pirelli Supersoft tyre by Valtteri Bottas saw the Finn end the second day of the second pre-season test at the Circuit de Catalunya, finishing ahead of reigning World Champion Lewis Hamilton.

The Williams Martini Racing driver completed 108 laps and set a best time of 1m23.261s on Wednesday to outpace the Soft tyre-shod Mercedes driver Hamilton by 0.361s.

Mercedes once again split the duties between their two drivers, with Hamilton running 73 laps in the morning before Nico Rosberg logged an additional 91 laps in the afternoon, although the German was down in ninth on the timesheets as his programme differed from Hamilton’s.

Kevin Magnussen was third fastest for the Renault team, completing 126 laps of his own, while Sebastian Vettel was fourth for Scuderia Ferrari, racking up 151 laps of the Circuit de Catalunya.

Jenson Button and his McLaren-Honda team completed 121 laps on Wednesday and set a best time of 1m25.183s to finish fifth fastest, although some track time was lost following a suspension issue just before the lunch break.

Daniel Ricciardo was just 0.052s slower than Button in sixth for Red Bull Racing ahead of Carlos Sainz Jr in the sister Scuderia Toro Rosso team, with the Spaniard completing a day-high 166 laps.

Sergio Perez continued the development of the Sahara Force India VJM09, running 128 laps and finishing eighth fastest ahead of Rosberg, while Pascal Wehrlein ended tenth fastest for Manor Racing, with the German completing 79 laps.

Marcus Ericsson had his first opportunity to test the 2016 Sauber on Wednesday, but suffered a delayed start and then an on-track stoppage during the afternoon session to complete just 55 laps in finishing eleventh.

A turbo issue on the Haas F1 Team entry restricted Esteban Gutierrez to just one installation lap on Wednesday, with the team ending their day early for a second consecutive day as they addressed their technical issues.

Circuit de Catalunya Pre-Season Test 2 Day 2 Result

177Valtteri BottasFINWilliams-Mercedes1m23.261s108
244Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes1m23.622s73
320Kevin MagnussenDENRenault1m23.933s126
45Sebastian VettelGERFerrari1m24.611s151
522Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren-Honda1m25.183s121
63Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer1m25.235s135
755Carlos Sainz JrESPToro Rosso-Renault1m25.300s166
811Sergio PerezMEXForce India-Mercedes1m25.593s128
96Nico RosbergGERMercedes1m26.298s91
1094Pascal WehrleinGERManor-Mercedes1m27.064s79
119Marcus EricssonSWESauber-Ferrari1m27.487s55
1221Esteban GutierrezMEXHaas-FerrariNo Time1