Pirelli unveil Bahrain driver tyre choices

Formula 1’s sole tyre manufacturer Pirelli have revealed the compounds of tyre that each driver and team will bring to next month’s Bahrain Grand Prix.

Pirelli will be bringing the P Zero White Medium, Yellow Soft and Red Supersoft to the Bahrain International Circuit, with one set of Mediums and one set of Softs to be held back until the race, and one set of Supersofts until Q3.

This ruling means six drivers, including both Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton but also Kevin Magnussen, Jolyon Palmer, Max Verstappen and Esteban Gutierrez will not be able to test the Medium tyre at any time during the weekend until the race, as all six have only chosen to pick one set of Medium tyres.

Unlike in Australia, Mercedes AMG PETRONAS have decided to pick the same amounts of each compound of tyres for each of its drivers, with Rosberg and Hamilton both having six sets of Softs and six sets of Supersofts on top of their one set of Mediums.

Both Scuderia Ferrari drivers have also got the same amounts of compounds, with Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen bringing three sets of Mediums, four sets of Softs and six sets of Supersofts to Bahrain.

Only three teams have split their tyre choices, with Scuderia Toro Rosso, the Sauber F1 Team and the Haas F1 Team all choosing slightly differing amounts of each compound for their respective drivers.

Bahrain Grand Prix Pirelli Tyre Compound Choices

44Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes166
6Nico RosbergGERMercedes166
5Sebastian VettelGERFerrari346
7Kimi RaikkonenFINFerrari346
77Valtteri BottasFINWilliams-Mercedes337
19Felipe MassaBRZWilliams-Mercedes337
3Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer256
26Daniil KvyatRUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer256
27Nico HulkenbergGERForce India-Mercedes256
11Sergio PerezMEXForce India-Mercedes256
20Kevin MagnussenDENRenault157
30Jolyon PalmerGBRRenault157
33Max VerstappenNEDToro Rosso-Ferrari175
55Carlos Sainz JrESPToro Rosso-Ferrari265
14Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren-Honda346
22Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren-Honda346
9Marcus EricssonSWESauber-Ferrari355
12Felipe NasrBRZSauber-Ferrari445
94Pascal WehrleinGERManor-Mercedes454
88Rio HaryantoINOManor-Mercedes454
8Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas-Ferrari247
21Esteban GutierrezMEXHaas-Ferrari157