Formula V8 3.5

Yu Kanamaru ends Barcelona test on top

1 Mins read

Yu Kanamaru and Teo Martin Motorsport set the pace on the second day of the pre-season test at the Circuit de Catalunya on Wednesday.

The Japanese racer, stepping up full-time into Formula V8 3.5 in 2016 with the team, set the best time seen across the two days in Spain with a 1m29.571s during the morning session, while team-mate Matevos Isaakyan was the pacesetter in the afternoon.

Kanamaru ended the opening session of the day ahead of the opening day’s fastest driver Aurélien Panis, with the Arden Motorsport driver once again being quick with a time just 0.191s shy of the pace.

Tom Dillmann ended the morning third quickest for AVF ahead of Emil Bernstorff, who continued his audition for a seat with Strakka Racing for the new season with the fourth fastest time.

2015 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC champion Louis Deletraz ended fifth fastest for Fortec Motorsports, ahead of Lotus duo Roy Nissany and Rene Binder, while Beitske Visser put the second Strakka entry into eighth.

Matthieu Vaxiviere was ninth for SMP Racing, with Pietro Fittipaldi rounding out the top ten in the second Fortec car.

Isaakyan set the best time of the afternoon session with a 1m30.596s, just ahead of RP Motorsport’s Johnny Cecotto Jr, while Vaxiviere was third ahead of AVF’s Alfonso Celis Jr.

Binder was fifth ahead of Arden Motorsport’s Egor Orudzhev, with Kanamaru seventh ahead of 2015 EuroFormula Open champion Vitor Baptista of RP Motorsport, while Dillmann and Deletraz completed the top ten.

Testing resumes at Motorland Aragon on the 9-10 April.

Circuit de Catalunya Pre-Season Test Day 2 Morning Times

[table id=887 /]

Circuit de Catalunya Pre-Season Test Day 2 Afternoon Times

[table id=888 /]

Related posts
Formula V8 3.5

Season Review: 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 – Fittipaldi Takes Final Crown

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 season, the final year of the category.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5

Fittipaldi Remains Focused on Reaching F1 after Formula V8 3.5 Triumph

1 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi wants to become the next Brazilian Formula 1 driver after taking the final World Series Formula V8 3.5 title last weekend in Bahrain.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5Opinion

OPINION: Formula V8 3.5 - The necessary casualty of the FIA's superlicense overhaul

5 Mins read
The FIA’s superlicense changes set in motion a fatal chain of events for 3.5 series racing. However. was it a sacrifice worth making?

Leave a Reply