Deletraz leads opening Motorland Collective Test

Renault Sport Academy member Louis Deletraz was quickest in the opening Collective Test of the Formula V8 3.5 era as the 2016 season got underway at Motorland Aragon on Friday.

The Swiss driver, racing for Fortec Motorsports having stepped up into the series on the back of a winning campaign in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC, was the only driver to set a time beneath 1m41s during the fifty-minute session, setting the pace with a 1m40.874s.

Frenchman Tom Dillmann was closest to Deletraz’s time, with the AVF driver 0.234s back in second, with SMP Racing-backed Russian Egor Orudzhev a further 0.057s back in third for Arden Motorsport.

Pietro Fittipaldi made it two Fortec drivers inside the top four, but was over half a second down on his team-mate’s time, while Aurélien Panis completed the top five in the second Arden.

Matevos Isaakyan, a last minute replacement at SMP Racing for the injured Vladimir Atoev, was sixth fastest, ahead of the last driver to be confirmed for the season, Beitske Visser, for Teo Martin Motorsport.

Rene Binder of Lotus, Yu Kanamaru of Teo Martin Motorsport and Alfonso Celis Jr of AVF completed the top ten.

The weekend continues with the second collective test session later on Friday, before the opening qualifying session and race coming on Saturday.

Motorland Aragon Collective Test 1 Times

11Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1m40.874s
216Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m41.108s
37Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m41.165s
42Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m41.465s
58Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1m41.507s
626Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1m41.510s
76Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1m41.580s
83Rene BinderAUTLotus1m41.721s
925Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1m42.008s
1015Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m42.126s
1123Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1m42.134s
1222Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m42.266s
134Roy NissanyISRLotus1m42.294s
1421Johnny Cecotto JrVENRP Motorsport1m42.905s
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1m46.520s