Dillmann secures race two Motorland pole

Tom Dillmann secured pole position for race two of the opening Formula V8 3.5 Series weekend at Motorland Aragon despite having his best lap time deleted for exceeding track limits.

The AVF driver set a time of 1m40.461s to take the pole position on Sunday, but saw his time of 1m40.413s deleted due to his infraction at turn nine.

Dillmann will be joined at the front of the grid by fellow Frenchman Aurélien Panis, with the Arden Motorsport driver 0.159s back in second place, with Fortec Motorsports’ race one winner Louis Deletraz third, a further 0.024s.

Race one pole sitter Egor Orudzhev could not repeat his Saturday efforts and had to settle for fourth, but this confirmed a strong pace for the Arden Motorsport team.

Saturday’s runner-up Matthieu Vaxiviere was fifth quickest for SMP Racing, ahead of the second AVF of Mexican Alfonso Celis Jr, while the fourth row sees LotusRene Binder and RP Motorsport’s Johnny Cecotto Jr.

Teo Martin Motorsport will be hoping for better luck in race two after seeing their drivers collide, and both will start on the fifth row for race two, Beitske Visser ahead of Yu Kanamaru.

Motorland Aragon Race 2 Qualifying Times

116Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m40.461s
28Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1m40.620s
31Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1m40.644s
47Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m40.666s
523Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1m40.924s
615Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m40.953s
73Rene BinderAUTLotus1m41.024s
821Johnny Cecotto JrVENRP Motorsport1m41.035s
96Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1m41.043s
1025Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1m41.119s
114Roy NissanyISRLotus1m41.327s
122Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m41.331s
1326Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1m41.466s
1422Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m41.636s
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1m46.133s