Michelin Clio Cup Series

Dorlin Sets The Pace In Pembrey Clio Series Qualifying

1 Mins read

James Dorlin has continued his great start to the 2016 Michelin Clio Cup Series season with a pair of pole positions at Pembrey, though Sam Randon was able to pip him to race three pole.

Dorlin led the way with two poles and two wins in the Oulton Park season opener last month, and the Westbourne Motorsport ace has carried that form across for the trip to Wales.

The championship’s first ever visit to Pembrey featured two qualifying sessions, the first setting the grid for the opening two races, with the second session focusing on race three.

Dorlin set the tone in the first outing with both poles, but it wasn’t plain sailing as his Westbourne team-mate Randon pushed him close, just 0.125s separating them at the end.

Brett Lidsey and Luke Pinder were over half a second further back, the final two drivers within a second of the pole time, with Ben Palmer, Ben Colburn and Tyler Lidsey completing the Race Class runners.

Remarkably, the drivers’ second fastest time in that session produced the exact same order for the grid for race two, with Dorlin’s pole margin this time an extended 0.456s.

It was all change in the second session however as Randon topped the timesheets, 0.232s ahead of Dorlin, with Pinder just seven hundredths of a second further back.

Brett Lidsey put himself on the second row of the grid once again with fourth ahead of his brother Tyler, with Ben Palmer

In the Road category, Sarah Franklin produced a perfect start to the weekend with a treble pole position, with Nic Harrison second for each ahead of Jack Fabby.

Full qualifying results can be found here.

Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply