Formula 1Historic Racing

Formula 1 heads back to Laguna Seca

1 Mins read
1, 8A, 1976 Ferrari 312 T2, Chris MacAllister

Formula 1 cars will be return to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca as part of the famous Monterey Classic Car Week celebration this August.

Around 550 historic cars will head to the 2016 Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, with fifteen race groups running in period colour schemes. All the cars are authentically-prepared to their original mechanical specifications.

Historic F1 cars include Lotus, March, Tyrrell, Hill, Williams, Penske, Ferrari, Shadow and Brabham, these will be driven by enthusiastic owners of history. The 1980 Williams FW07, the car from Alan Jones’ championship-winning season, will be driven by Zak Brown. More Williams history comes from the 1980 FW07B and the 1983 FW08C, the type of car Keke Rosberg won that year’s Monaco GP.

The Lotus 79 that Mario Andretti won the 1978 Formula 1 World Championship will make an appearance, holding a special place in the hearts of American fans.

BMW will be this year’s featured marque and will be displaying a wide range of race cars and street models that helped turn the German company into one of the most highly regarded brands in the world, in the year they celebrate their 100th anniversary.

Discover more about the event including a provisional entry list here.

Related posts
Formula 1

Ricciardo in the Spotlight: Montreal Performance and the Road Ahead

6 Mins read
Will a good weekend in Montreal be the start of a revival for Daniel Ricciardo in 2024? TCF takes a look at his performance and the road ahead.
Formula 1

2024 Canadian Grand Prix: What the Drivers are Saying after the Race

11 Mins read
Following 70 laps of incredible racing in Montreal, the drivers review their performances in a thrilling wet-to-dry race.
Formula 1

2024 Canadian Grand Prix: Verstappen Takes Impressive Victory in Thrilling Wet-to-Dry Race

5 Mins read
Max Verstappen took an impressive victory in a thrilling wet-to-dry race in Montreal, with Lando Norris and George Russell on the podium.