New teams to the fore as Hungaroring weekend begins

Two new teams hit the top of the timing screens during the collective test sessions of the Formula V8 3.5 series at the Hungaroring on Friday, with both Teo Martin Motorsport and RP Motorsport ending fastest in the first and second session respectively.

Yu Kanamaru was the pacesetter in the first session, the Japanese racer setting a time of 1m28.762s to lead the way for Teo Martin Motorsport, while Johnny Cecotto Jr set the best time of the whole day in the second session with a 1m27.826s for RP Motorsport.

Rene Binder was second in the first session for Lotus, ahead of one of the team’s former drivers Matthieu Vaxiviere, now racing for SMP Racing in 2016, while Tom Dillmann was fourth for AVF ahead of Cecotto.

Louis Deletraz celebrated his birthday with the sixth fastest time for Fortec Motorsports, ahead of the second Lotus of Roy Nissany, while Alfonso Celis Jr placed the second AVF in eighth ahead of Arden Motorsport duo Egor Orudzhev and Aurélien Panis.

Dillmann was second behind Cecotto in the second session, with Kanamaru again inside the top three, with Vaxiviere and Pietro Fittipaldi of Fortec Motorsports completing the top five.

Celis Jr, Deletraz, Nissany, Orudzhev and SMP Racing’s Matevos Isaakyan completed the top ten.

Hungaroring Collective Test 1 Times

125Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1m28.762s
23Rene BinderAUTLotus1m29.022s
323Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1m29.069s
416Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m29.251s
521Johnny Cecotto JrVENRP Motorsport1m29.319s
61Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1m29.399s
74Roy NissanyISRLotus1m29.428s
815Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m29.441s
97Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m29.477s
108Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1m30.042s
116Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1m30.704s
1226Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1m30.739s
1322Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m30.942s
142Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m31.438s
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1m35.419s

Hungaroring Collective Test 2 Times

121Johnny Cecotto JrVENRP Motorsport1m27.826s
216Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m28.061s
325Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1m28.370s
423Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1m28.438s
52Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m28.697s
615Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m28.755s
71Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1m28.797s
84Roy NissanyISRLotus1m28.908s
97Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m28.922s
1026Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1m29.214s
116Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1m29.298s
123Rene BinderAUTLotus1m29.458s
138Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1m29.473s
1422Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m29.919s
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1m33.236s