Nico Rosberg tops FP1 timesheet in Bahrain

Nico Rosberg led the way for Mercedes AMG PETRONAS in free practice one of the 2016 Bahrain Grand Prix around the Bahrain International Circuit on Friday.

The German set the pace with a lap of 1m32.294s, with team-mate Lewis Hamilton 0.505s behind. Kimi Raikkonen set a time of 1m34.128s for Scuderia Ferrari to go third fastest behind the Briton. With the Red Bull Racing duo Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat completing the top five.

Nico Hulkenberg set a fastest lap time of 1m34.601s for Sahara Force India to go sixth fastest ahead of the Scuderia Toro Rosso duo Carlos Sainz Jr. and Max Verstappen. Completing the top ten was the Haas F1 of Romain Grosjean in ninth with a fastest lap of 1m35.000s to set him only 0.006s faster than the Williams Martini Racing of Felipe Massa in tenth.

Missing out in the top ten by 0.067s behind Massa was the second Ferrari of Sebastian Vettel. With the second Williams of Valtteri Bottas in twelfth behind the German with a time of 1m35.174s. Esteban Gutierrez finished in thirteenth for Haas in their second FP1 with a time of 1m35.309s. Only 0.309s behind French team-mate Grosjean.

Jenson Button finished ahead of former McLaren-Honda team-mate Kevin Magnussen in fourteenth, with Magnussen finishing the session for Renault with a time of 1m35.490s only 0.050s behind the Briton. Marcus Ericsson finished the session for Sauber F1 in fifteenth with rookie Pascal Wehrlein behind him for Manor Racing.

Filling in for Fernando Alonso this weekend after his crash with Gutierrez at the season-opener in Melbourne, GP2 Champion Stoffel Vandoorne finished the session in eighteenth. With the second Sauber of Felipe Nasr behind him with a time of 1m36.719s. Jolyon Palmer finished in twentieth ahead of Alfonso Celis, who took over FP1 driving duties from Sergio Perez for Force India. Rio Haryanto finished the session with a time of 1m37.714s, 5.420s behind Rosberg’s fastest lap.

16Nico RosbergGERMercedes1m32.294s24
244Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes1m32.799s24
37Kimi RaikkonenFINFerrari1m34.128s16
43Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer1m34.461s27
526Daniil KvyatRUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer1m34.541s30
627Nico HulkenbergGERForce India-Mercedes1m34.601s28
755Carlos Sainz JrESPToro Rosso-Renault1m34.793s21
833Max VerstappenNEDToro Rosso-Renault1m34.860s19
98Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas-Ferrari1m35.000s18
1019Felipe MassaBRZWilliams-Mercedes1m35.006s19
115Sebastian VettelGERFerrari1m35.073s14
1277Valtteri BottasFINWilliams-Mercedes1m35.174s21
1321Esteban GutierrezMEXHaas-Ferrari1m35.309s19
1422Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren-Honda1m35.440s28
1520Kevin MagnussenDENRenault1m35.490s27
169Marcus EricssonSWESauber-Ferrari1m35.728s30
1794Pascal WehrleinGERManor-Mercedes1m36.371s26
1847Stoffel VandoorneBELMcLaren-Honda1m36.392s25
1912Felipe NasrBRZSauber-Ferrari1m36.719s24
2030Jolyon PalmerGBRRenault1m36.939s28
2134Alfonso CelisMEXForce India-Mercedes1m37.287s23
2288Rio HaryantoINOManor-Mercedes1m37.714s27