Paddon tops 2016 Rally Argentina shakedown

Hyundai Motorsport driver Hayden Paddon put in a strong warning shot to his fellow competitors as he topped the times in the FIA World Rally Championship shakedown for the 2016 Rally Argentina.

Paddon took his New Generation i20 WRC for three runs through the shakedown stage and finished nearly one and a half seconds ahead of VW Motorsport driver Jari-Matti Latvala who pipped team-mate Sébastien Ogier by less than a second.

The VW of Andreas Mikkelsen split the two Hyundai’s of Dani Sordo and Thierry Neuville in the times ahead of Ott Tänak in the DMACK-entered Ford Fiesta RS WRC, with M-Sport’s Mads Østberg rounding out the top eight. Belgian Neuville suffered a puncture on his first run and a puncture on his third run.

Argentinian driver Marcos Ligato piloted his Citroën DS3 WRC to ninth place as he took two runs through the shakedown stage ahead of Henning Solberg and Eric Camilli who maximised their testing with five attempts at the stage.

WRC 2 leader Elfyn Evans was forced to stop after a sensor, leading him to set a time over eleven minutes.

2016 Rally Argentina: Shakedown

Pos.Driver - Co-DriverCarFastest Time
1Hayden Paddon - John KennardHyundai i20 WRC '16 4:02.9 
2Jari-Matti Latvala - Miikka AnttilaVolkswagen Polo R WRC 4:04.2 
3Sébastien Ogier - Julien IngrassiaVolkswagen Polo R WRC 4:04.9 
4Dani Sordo - Marc MartíHyundai i20 WRC '16 4:05.9 
5Andreas Mikkelsen - Anders JægerVolkswagen Polo R WRC 4:06.8 
6Thierry Neuville - Nicolas GilsoulHyundai i20 WRC '16 4:07.6 
7Ott Tänak - Raigo MõlderFord Fiesta RS WRC 4:08.0 
8Mads Østberg - Ola FløeneFord Fiesta RS WRC 4:09.3 
9Marcos Ligato - Ruben GarciaCitroën DS3 WRC 4:12.2 
10Henning Solberg - Ilka Minor-PetraskoFord Fiesta RS WRC 4:13.5 
11Eric Camilli - Benjamin VeillasFord Fiesta RS WRC 4:14.4 
12Nicolás Fuchs - Fernando MussanoŠkoda Fabia R5 4:19.7 
13Lorenzo Bertelli - Simone ScattolinFord Fiesta RS WRC 4:21.3 
14Valeriy Gorban - Volodymyr KorsiaMini Cooper WRC 4:22.0 
15Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari - Killian DuffyŠkoda Fabia R5 4:35.5 
16Khalid Mohammad Al-Suwaidi - Giovanni BernacchiniFord Fiesta R5 4:36.3 
17Hubert Ptaszek - Maciej SzczepaniakPeugeot 208 T16 4:39.7 
18Didier Arias - Hector NunesŠkoda Fabia R5 4:45.7 
19Augusto Bestard - Fernando MendoncaFord Fiesta R5 4:48.1 
20Michel Fabre - Maxime VilmotCitroën DS3 R3T Max 5:24.6 
21Elfyn Evans - Craig ParryFord Fiesta R5 11:13.7