Silverstone WEC: Porsche inherits win after Audi exclusion

1 Mins read

The #2 Porsche of Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb has been handed victory at the Six Hours of Silverstone following the post-race exclusion of the race winning #7 Audi Sport Team Joest entry.

Having crossed the line first at the end of a thrilling six hours of racing, the Audi trio of Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler were disqualified from the results having contravened article 3.5.6 a3 of the LMP1 rulebook, with the underfloor plank of their car being found to have worn by more than the 5mm allowed by those regulations.

Having been granted a hearing by stewards, Audi’s post-race explanation for the reasons of the excessive wear was deemed to be insufficient, and subsequently the team have made it clear they do intend to appeal the exclusion.

As well as the #2 Porsche inheriting victory, second place now goes to the #6 Toyota Gazoo Racing entry of Stephane Sarrazin, Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi, while the final podium position now goes to the independent #13 Rebellion Racing entry of Alexandre Imperatori, Matheo Tuscher and Dominik Kraihamer despite having started at the back of the field after failing to set a lap time during qualifying.

Related posts

Glickenhaus to Skip Opening Round of WEC

1 Mins read
Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus has officially withdrawn its entries from the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, leaving just three cars in the top class of the race.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

ByKolles Names Test and Development Drivers for Hypercar Project

2 Mins read
Tom Dillmann and Esteban Guerrieri have been announced as ByKolles Racing’s test and development drivers for their Le Mans Hypercar project.
24 Hours of Le MansAsian Le Mans SeriesEuropean Le Mans SeriesFIA WEC

LMP2 Suffers More Performance Cuts to Keep Hypercars Ahead

1 Mins read
More changes have been made to the LMP2 cars to ensure the Hypercars are faster ahead of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply