Vettel leads Ferrari 1-2 in final Bahrain practice

Sebastian Vettel led team-mate Kimi Raikkonen in final practice for the Bahrain Grand Prix on Saturday as Scuderia Ferrari ended Mercedes AMG PETRONAS’ apparent early weekend domination at the desert track.

Vettel set a best time of 1m31.683s on the Supersoft Pirelli tyre to edge out team-mate Raikkonen by 0.040s to end Nico Rosberg’s stay at the top after the Mercedes team had dominated on Friday.

Rosberg was third quickest, once again outpacing team-mate Lewis Hamilton, this time by 0.056s, with the top four covered by just under half a second.

Valtteri Bottas was the only other driver to get within a second of Vettel’s pace, with the Williams Martini Racing driver 0.992s adrift in fifth, with Romain Grosjean an excellent sixth for the Haas F1 Team, 1.399s off the pace.

Daniil Kvyat claimed seventh for Red Bull Racing ahead of the second Haas of Esteban Gutierrez, while the second Williams of Felipe Massa and the second Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo closed out the top ten.

Marcus Ericsson was an encouraging eleventh for the Sauber F1 Team ahead of Renault’s Kevin Magnussen, while Jenson Button and Stoffel Vandoorne were thirteenth and fourteenth respectively for McLaren-Honda, separated by just 0.040s.

Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz Jr appeared to struggle for Scuderia Toro Rosso to end up fifteenth and sixteenth fastest, ahead of the second Sauber of Felipe Nasr and the two disappointing Sahara Force India’s of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez.

Jolyon Palmer was twentieth for Renault and ended the session crawling back to the pits with a puncture, while Rio Haryanto got the better of Pascal Wehrlein in the battle of the Manor Racing drivers at the rear of the field.

Bahrain Grand Prix Free Practice 3 Result

15Sebastian VettelGERFerrari1m31.683s22
27Kimi RaikkonenFINFerrari1m31.723s13
36Nico RosbergGERMercedes1m32.104s18
444Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes1m32.160s14
577Valtteri BottasFINWilliams-Mercedes1m32.675s18
68Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas-Ferrari1m33.082s14
726Daniil KvyatRUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer1m33.113s10
821Esteban GutierrezMEXHaas-Ferrari1m33.337s14
919Felipe MassaBRZWilliams-Mercedes1m33.363s18
103Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull-Tag Heuer1m33.519s20
119Marcus EricssonSWESauber-Ferrari1m33.569s16
1220Kevin MagnussenDENRenault1m33.617s9
1322Jenson ButtonGBRMcLaren-Honda1m33.704s12
1447Stoffel VandoorneBELMcLaren-Honda1m33.744s11
1533Max VerstappenNEDToro Rosso-Renault1m33.778s20
1655Carlos Sainz JrESPToro Rosso-Renault1m34.003s20
1712Felipe NasrBRZSauber-Ferrari1m34.013s15
1827Nico HulkenbergGERForce India-Mercedes1m34.128s16
1911Sergio PerezMEXForce India-Mercedes1m34.281s15
2030Jolyon PalmerGBRRenault1m34.424s9
2188Rio HaryantoINOManor-Mercedes1m35.546s15
2294Pascal WehrleinGERManor-Mercedes1m35.724s16